Minutes of the OH Region Section Executive Committee Spring 17

Date: 5/5/2017

Location: Pray-Harrold Hall Room 202 – Eastern Michigan University

Present: Jeff Dyck, Chair (JCU), Snow Balaz: Chair-elect (YSU); Petru Fodor, Vice Chair (CSU); Dennis Kuhl, Past-Chair (MC); Roy Day, Treasurer (JCU); Jay Mathew, Member-at-Large (UD); Don Priour, Treasurer-elect (YSU); Ulrich Zurcher, Secretary (CSU); Ernie Behringer host Spring

2017 (EMU); Danny Caballero, host Spring 2018 (MSU).

Section Business:

Secretary's report and approval of minutes

Ulrich Zurcher

Report (with small changes by Jeff Dyck) were approved

Treasurer Report Roy Day

Most income generated by membership fees; decline in income due mostly from the decrease in income generated from interest. It is therefore important to increase the number of section members and various strategies were discussed. Student travel is \$2,000 per meeting; kept at this fixed value even if more than 20 students apply for funds in which case the dollar amount per student is reduced. For Spring 17 meeting, 24 travel grant applications were received prior to the meeting. Most expenses are from meetings; expenses stabilized since OSAPS no longer awards speakers' honoraria. Large expense from facility fees at many state universities. Fall 2016 meeting at BGSU more expensive than usual but was offset by much larger local income. OSPAS no longer supports TechFest. Maintain funding for OH Science Day [\$50, \$100, \$150 for three age categories for a total of \$900].

The treasurer report was approved.

Meeting Reports:

- Jeff Dyck for Mikhail Zamkov at BGSU Fall 2016; Topic: Energy and Sustainability; 6 plenary speakers and booths for meeting sponors.
- Ernie Behringer Spring 2017 at EMU; 79 registered, 28 posters, and 87 abstracts. Total income \$3500; cost \$2250 (rooms) and \$1200 (travel), anticipated total cost to OSAPS about \$700.

Future Meetings:

- Jeff Dyck for Samir Bail/Perry Rice- Fall 2017 at Miami U. Topic: Quantum Information, 4 invited speakers Clemens was main organizer and left MU slide at banquet on Friday evening (5/5).
- Danny Caballero Spring 2018 at MSU; currently planned of May 11-12; ensuing discussion showed a preference for an earlier meeting in late March, possibly March 23/24; 6 parallel sessions – all meetings in Physics Building. Cohost is AAPT MI section.
- No host yet for Fall 2018; U Akron showed some initial interest but decided against, Oberlin showed some initial interest but then withdrew since 2 faculty on leave; Scott Lee U Toledo showed some potential organized 3 meetings, last meeting 2001. Wright

State (financial constraint). Regional diversity would suggest Otterbein, OH Wesleyan, Kenyon, and Denison – Snow Balaz and Petru Fodor continue their efforts in finding a host.

• Spring 19 College of Wooster March 29/30 – Frontiers in Nonlinear Science

Snow Balaz suggested that meeting organizers are encouraged to select a diverse group of plenary speakers; encourage hosting SPS zone meetings (but issue with registering students – cost of banquet).

Discussion regarding the cost of meeting (fee for use of space at state universities/colleges); difficulties finding sponsors for meetings.

Standing Committee Reports:

- Membership Committee (Jay Mathews for Julie Roche); discussion of the academic and regional affiliation of members; use email newsletter with blurp as recruiting tool, membership of undergraduates; increase participation ratio of APS members, check with APS central registering whether person registering OSAPS meetings if they want to join OSAPS; discussed the possibility to use lottery as a membership drive.
- Honors and Awards Committee (Jeff Dyck for Bob Hengehold): Maxwell award to Fred
 Trexler unable to attend Spring meeting tentatively at Fall meeting; several candidates
 for Fowler- request nominations at banquet (Jeff Dyck); Bob Hengehold, Mike
 Crescimanno (YSU) and Scott Lee (Toledo) are member of committee; Bob remains chair
 until fall but remain on committee thereafter (possibly honorary membership); Mike
 Crescimanno YSU new chair; continue discussion at Fall 2017 meeting; Roy Day
 suggested to limit membership to 3 years.
- Nominations Committee (Dennis Kuhl): 88% voting members very satisfied/satisfied with online voting; goal is more than one candidate for each position generates greater interest in election; overall 4 males and 2 females nominated, but only one person accepted each nomination; 3 names needed to APS for next nominating committee.
- Webmaster report (Jeff Dyck for Perry Yaney); remove current document for future hosts from website and replace it with a 2 page summary (mostly the timeline of organizing a meeting); also post approved minutes of business meetings.

Old Business:

- Newsletter (Gabriela Popoa and Dennis Kuhl past chairs); use template so that organizers simply fill in the relevant information; mailing to members between meetings (June-December) so that gathering information is critical for timely dissemination.
- OSAPS Executive Committee Guide (Jeff Dyck): helpful for executive members
- Revised Bylaws (Dennis Kuhl): new bylaws were approved by ballot with 99% in favor, made necessary from changes in the governance of national organization (APS).

New Business:

• *Elections* (Dennis Kuhl): elected were Roy Day (Vice Chair), Don Priour (Treasurer), Matt Mircovich (student member at large), new officers announced at banquet (5/5)

- Gordon Aubrecht was sitting council observer APS, this position needs to be filled.
- Motion was approved to name OH Science Day to honor longtime commitment of Gordon Aubrecht: Gordon Aubrecht Physics Award sponsored by the OH Region Section of the American Physical Society (OSAPS). Awardees are selected by the Southern OH Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers [SO AAPT] under the stewardship of Mathew Kennedy and Elizabeth George.
- Dennis Kuhl suggested to support similar effort in MI named award associated with OSAPS
- Graduate Fair (Jay Mathews): Poster Session can be used to promote graduate programs – allow students to attend by splitting poster session into two groups.
- Revive new faculty luncheon as was first done by Mike Crescimanno.

Report APS Convocation (Snow Balaz):

Met with staff of member of congress; was asked by APS to talk about infrastructure for research, helium, education.

Leadership convocation: physics comic, helping section and division
Gregory Mack: Physics Boosts – APS advocacy, information about science cuts and policy
Whitehouse Office of Science and Technology – open data for research
Journal and publications free and quick turnaround– Laura Green president
Sections update: all sections struggle to attract more members

End of Business meeting at 12:30 pm