Minutes of the OH Region Section Executive Committee Spring 18

Date: 3/28/2018

Location: 1312C Biomedical and Physical Science Building – Michigan State University

Present: **Executive Committee Members**: Petru Fodor, Chair-elect (CSU); Don Priour, Treasurer (YSU), Roy Day, Vice Chair (JCU); Jay Mathews, Member-at-Large (UD); Ulrich Zurcher, Secretary (CSU); **Guests**: Andrea Richard, Member-at-Large elect (OU); Danny Callabrero host Spring 2018 meeting (MSU); Mike Crescimanno, Awards Committee (YSU), Perry Yaney, archivist (UD).

Not present: Snow Balaz: Chair (YSU), Jeff Dyck, past-Chair (JCU), Bob Hengehold, Honors and Awards Committee (AFIT-Dayton, ret); Matthew Mircovich Student Member (UD), Julie Roche Member-at-Large (OU).

Section Business:

Secretary's report and approval of minutes

Ulrich Zurcher

Correction: Snow Balaz is member of Nominating Committee, spelling correction Report was approved

Treasurer Report Don Priour

Period 8/29/17- 01/31/18. Miami U meeting (Fall 17) collected \$2,803 registration fees from 145 paying participants (total number of participants). There was some question about the number of participants, a total of 24 paying (?) non-members seems suspicious, 81 total banquet tickets. Income from interest \$322 (likely to increase in the future). Total income \$11,821.49 Expenses included \$900 student travel grants and \$450 BAPS charges – this is higher than usual (about \$300) due to greater number of participants. Total meeting cost was \$4,928 (includes \$3000 advance). Total expense \$9,280. The total balance as of 1/31/18: \$25,094.95. Internal report shows a balance of \$28,000. Treasurer will investigate the difference to account balance reported by APS. Spring 18 Meeting (MSU): Banquet tickets \$1800, registration: \$1500, travel of plenary speakers \$2000; travel grants \$2000.

Meeting Reports Roy Day

Danny Caballero MSU: Meeting Spring 18. Total number of posters 32 on Friday, and 6 parallel sessions each with 4-6 oral presentations including two sessions on applied physics, and one session on theory. Meeting includes MI AAPT meeting attached to Phys Educ. Plenary speakers Monica Plisch (APS) on underrepresented groups, Susan White (AIP) on Statistics, Emily Dare (Michigan Tech), Adrienne Traxler (Wright State).

Roy Day: Future meetings – Fall 18: University of Toledo, Spring 19: Wooster College, Fall/Spring 19: CWRU is considering this. In contact with Xavier University, Oberlin College, Kettering University, and OSU Zanesville.

APS Convocation Petru Fodor

Attended by Jay Mathews, Don Priour and Petru Fodor.

According to Kate Kirby APS makes 20 million annual profit, total balance \$200 million; future loss of income due to publishing, substantial income from March and April meetings. Increase contribution to sections from \$4 to \$5 is being explored and a petition from the sections might follow in the future.

Regional sections: Three section have two meetings/year (NY, Texas, OH Region), four sections have one meeting/year.

The discussion then `veered' into a general discussion into the viability of two meetings a year. Pro: Local meetings are nice entry ramp for students – easier when driving distance is shorter, some students may have a poster ready for fall others for spring; two executive meetings/year, which is better for continuity (although one meeting could be held via Skype).

Con: Difficulty finding hosts (task of vice chair); greater cost for each organizer (assuming that attendance is roughly doubled). Roy Day proposed having a subcommittee to explore this issue but no vote was taken.

Standing Committee Reports

Membership Committee: Andrea Richard reporting for Julie Roche:

No news. There will be a printable sign-up sheet at the banquet.

Student member: (Jay Mathews for Matthew Mircovich) no news to report

Honors and Awards: Mike Crescimanno

Maxwell Award to Fred Trexler (for service) given Sp 18, one nominee for Fowler award to be given Fall 18. Poster awards for undergraduate students (approved by 6-0-0) vote- plan to hold first award Fall 18 meeting at Toledo. Proposed that OSAPS should consider an award for junior faculty still on the tenure-track for accomplishment (in a broad sense) – good for their dossiers, improve involvement of junior faculty in OSAPS. The awards committee needs one more member (after the retirement of Bob Hengehold) – current members are Mike Crescimanno (YSU) and Scott Lee (UT)

Webmaster. No news. The APS handles the webpage (with input from the secretary) and there is no longer a need for a separate OSAPS Webmaster.

Nominating Committee: Roy Day

Proposal that the chair-elect is the chair of the nominating committee (approved 6-0-0)

Will be listed as a procedural change and not a change to the bylaws.

Archivist: Perry Yaney.

Will help to complete list of past officers;

Hints for hosts: Petru Fodor and Roy Day distributed their proposed new hints for hosts. Some improvements were suggested. These will be posted on the OSAPS webpage and there was general agreement that hosts will begin using them.