Minutes of the OH Region Section Executive Committee Fall 17

Date: 10/13/2017

Location: Kreger Hall Room 317 – Miami University

Present: Snow Balaz: Chair (YSU); Petru Fodor, Chair-elect (CSU); Don Priour, Treasurer (YSU), Roy Day (JCU); Jay Mathews, Member-at-Large (UD); Bob Hengehold, Honors and Awards Committee (AFIT-Dayton, ret); Matthew Mircovich Student Member (UD); Ulrich Zurcher,

Secretary (CSU); Samir Bali host Fall 2017 (Miami U).

Not present: Jeff Dyck, past-Chair (JCU)

Section Business:

Secretary's report and approval of minutes

Ulrich Zurcher

Report was approved

Treasurer Report Don Priour

Treasurer reports three minor discrepancies between the internal report and the report from the national organization: they are related to the OSAPS meeting in Spring 2017 at EMU, income generated by interest (likely due to date of reporting – APS report is delayed 2-3 months), and For fall 2017, a total of nine applications for travel funds were received: four students are contributed speakers and five students present posters. OSAPS affirms its support for the State Science Fair (\$900 annually). OSAPS funds have decreased over the past 10 years but seems to have stabilized for the past 2 years; this is likely due to the fact the OSAPS hosts no longer provide speaker fees.

The treasurer report was approved.

Meeting Reports:

- Erni Behringer (EMU) (Snow Balaz to report): Topic was computation in undergraduate teaching; somewhat low attendance most likely due to the date of the meeting on the first May weekend, which interfered with finals and graduation ceremonies at various universities and colleges.
- Samir Bali Fall 2017 at Miami U; 113 registered attendees (plus approximately 25 late sign-ups expected), 54 posters, and 31 talks (total 85 abstracts). Total projected income \$10,245; cost \$4,247 (room, travel, meals for invited speakers), anticipated total expense \$11,854; shortfall (income-expense) about \$1,600

Future Meetings: Petru Fodor and Roy Day report

- Spring 18: Michigan State University (Danny Caballero): Promoting Diversity in Physics
 Originally planned for May 11-12 moved to March 23-24; one invited talk on Friday
 starting 5p and three invited talks on Saturday (all invited speakers are women);
 Executive committee meeting Friday 1-4p.
- Fall 18 Toledo U: Scott Lee

- Spring 19 College of Wooster: Niklas Manz Frontiers in Nonlinear Science
- Fall 19 Oberlin, Xavier, and CWRU are potential hosts.

Standing Committee Reports:

- Membership Committee (Julie Roche); APS National April meeting is in Columbus, OH explore the possibility of a booth (contact APS); total number of members 1579 (drop os 20 – normal fluctuations); contact local SPS chapters for student members; most student members added at Kent State meeting (form circulated during banquet – repeat at future meetings).
- Honors and Awards Committee (Bob Hengehold): Bob Hengehold is stepping down as Committee Chair after 26 years serving in that position. He will be replaced by Mike Crescimanno (YSU). The Maxwell Award will be presented to Fred Trexler (Kettering Univ, Flint MI) at the Michigan State Meeting in Spring 2018. Fred is being honored for his service on the Executive Committee as Membership Chair as well as his efforts in working with the APS to set up on-line elections for the Section and his continued management of these elections since their inception. There was a discussion of the difficulties of finding nominees for both Maxwell and Fowler awards, not because good candidates don't exist but because members have not been active in nominating them. This was followed by a discussion of the requirements for the current two awards, particularly the unwritten requirement that a recipient for the Fowler Award should be an APS fellow To date all recipients of the Fowler have been APS Fellows. There was a suggestion that a new award be considered for the student presenting the best poster at a local meeting. The point was made that new awards should be carefully considered. This would require a bit of study by the Awards Committee and approval by the Executive Committee. Current Awards Committee members are: Mike Crescimanno (YSU), new Chair, Scott Lee (UT), continuing member, and Bob Hengehold (needs to be replaced). Suggested new committee member to replace Bob are Dennis Kuhl (Marietta), Elizabeth Mann (KSU), and Mellita Cariagu (ONU). (NOTE: Details of these issues are given in the "Report of the OSAPS Awards Committee
 - for the Fall 2017 Meeting" which is attached).
- Nominations Committee (Roy Day, Mathew Mircovich, Snjezana Balaz): we need nominations for vice-chair, member-at-large, student member; nominations reported by Fred Trexler to APS for electronic voting.
- Webmaster report (Roy Day and Petru Fodor for Perry Yaney): add bylaws, minutes of the executive committee, Fowler and Maxwell award; remove links to jobs (inactive).

New Business:

 Graduate Fair (Jay Mathews): Emails to graduate directors did lead to three responses (Heather Morrison, CWRU-Astronomy), Petru Fodor, CSU, and Jason Deibel, WSU). Meeting at Michigan State includes the Chapter of Local Physicists (Crystal Bailey – APS National- is a connection to this organization). Grad student fair most appropriate for fall meeting; more general networking for spring meetings.

- Hints for Hosts (Roy Day and Petru Fodor): inclusion of minority speakers, recommendation for hosts to check with OSAPS chair, and connection with meetings of AAPT and SPS chapters were discussed; will revise drafts; after approval will be posted on OSAPS webpage;
- Revive new faculty luncheon as was first done by Mike Crescimanno (??, Snow Balaz, Ulrich Zurcher)

End of Business meeting at 12:30 pm