

19th American Physical Society Shock Compression of Condensed Matter Biennial International Conference: Tampa, FL June 14-19, 2015

http://msl.cas.usf.edu/sccm-2015

The nineteenth Biennial International Conference of the APS Topical Group on Shock Compression of Condensed Matter (SCCM-2015) will be held at the Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina, Tampa, Florida, from June 14th through June 19th 2015. This conference is the forum for discussion of world-wide efforts in exploring fundamental science and applications of matter at extreme conditions including shock-induced materials behavior, plasticity, phase transitions, and chemical reactions; high strain rate phenomena; properties of energetic materials and detonation phenomena; properties of matter in the warm dense regime; and new computational methods from first-principals to the continuum.

Conference Chairs: Ivan Oleynik (USF), Suhithi Peiris (DTRA) and Ramon Ravelo (UTEP).

Conference Technical Committee:

- Detonation and shock induced chemistry: David Moore (LANL), Joel Carney (NSWC)
- Energetic and reactive materials: Steve Son (Purdue), James Lightstone (NSWC)
- Equations of state: Jon Eggert (LLNL)
- Experimental developments: Marcus Knudson, (SNL), Nick Glumac (UIUC)
- First-principles and molecular dynamics: Nir Goldman (LLNL), Jean-Bernard Maillet (CEA)
- Geophysics and planetary science: Stephane Mazevet (Observatirie de Paris), Allen Dalton (DTRA)
- Grain scale to continuum modeling: Larry Fried (LLNL), Zhen Chen (U Missouri)
- High-energy physics/Warm dense matter: Todd Ditmire (UT Austing), TBD
- Inelastic deformations, fracture and spall: Rusty Gray (LANL), KT Ramesh (JHU)
- Materials strength: Justin Brown (SNL), Wayne Chen (Purdue)
- Particulate, porous and composite materials: Vitali Nesterenko (UCSD); John Borg (Marquette U.)
- Phase transitions: Chris Seagle (SNL), Turab Lookman (LANL)
- Soft Matter: Eric Brown (LANL)

Conference Student Program: Dylan Spaulding (Harvard U.)

The call for abstracts will be issued in early Fall 2014.

Ivan Oleynik, oleynik@usf.edu; Suhithi Peiris, suhithi.peiris@dtra.mil, Ramon Ravelo, rravelo@utep.edu