# 2016 Business Meeting of the APS Topical Group on Shock Compression of Condensed Matter

March 16, 2016, 5:45 PM, Baltimore Convention Center (held in conjunction with the 2016 APS March Meeting)

### Agenda:

- 1. Welcome (Jensen)
- 2. Report of last elections (Elert)
- 3. Financial report (Elert)
- 4. 2015 Proceedings (Germann/Chau)
- 5. 2017 Conference
- 6. Committees and Awards (Jensen)
- 7. Open Floor
- 8. Adjourn

#### 1. Welcome (Jensen)

The meeting was called to order by the Topical Group Vice-Chair, Brian Jensen, at 5:45 pm. The Chair and the Chair-Elect were not present. A list of attendees is included as Appendix A.

# 2. Report of SCCM 2015 Elections (Elert)

The Secretary-Treasurer reported that the 2015 election was held from December 7, 2015 through January 14, 2016. There were 143 ballots cast, a 33% response rate. The candidates are listed below, with winners' names in bold.

- Member-at-large (2 year term; 2 seats available):
  - Cynthia Bolme
  - David Chapman
  - Avinash Dongare
  - Dayne Fratanduono
  - Jennifer Gottfried
- Vice-Chair (1 year term + succeeding posts; 1 seat available):
  - Daniel Eakins
  - Brian Jensen
- Secretary-Treasurer (3 year term; 1 seat available):
  - Mark Elert

The current officers of the Topical Group are:

- Chair: Dan Dolan (Sandia National Laboratories) through 2016, then Past-Chair
- Chair-Elect: Damian Swift (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) through 2016, then Chair
- Vice-Chair: Brian Jensen (Los Alamos National Laboratory) through 2016, then Chair-Elect
- Past-Chair: Paulo Rigg (Washington State University) through 2016
- Secretary/Treasurer: Mark Elert (US Naval Academy) through 2018
- Member-at-large: Cynthia Bolme (Los Alamos National Laboratory), through 2017
- Member-at-large: Jennifer Gottfried (Army Research Laboratory), through 2017
- Member-at-large: Rick Kraus (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory), through 2016
- Member-at-large: Seth Root (Sandia National Laboratories), through 2016

# 3. Financial Report (Elert)

Total assets as of 12/31/15 were \$338.4K. This includes the final accounting for the 2015 SCCM meeting, except for about \$13K still owed for publication of the Proceedings. The 2015 conference budget planned for financial break-even with about 500 attendees, but ended up making a profit of about \$100K. The surplus was due mostly to unexpectedly high levels of student travel sponsor donations and exhibitor fees. Attendance was also on the high side at 541, and there were more non-member registrations (with higher registration fees) than expected.

# 4. 2015 Conference Proceedings (Chau/Germann)

Two of the three 2015 Proceedings editors, Tim Germann and Ricky Chau, were present and reported on the status of the Proceedings. A few manuscripts were still under review, but online publication of the Proceedings was expected within a month or so. Tim and Ricky reported that having two reviews per manuscript was unwieldy and slowed the process considerably. They recommended going back to the previous procedure of having a single reviewer.

## 5. SCCM17 Conference Planning

The conference co-chairs for the 2017 GSCCM meeting will be Eric Brown, Marcus Knudson, and Jon Eggert. None of them were present at the business meeting. A specific hotel site and dates for the 2017 conference in Denver have not yet been selected, apparently because LANL has raised concerns about its employees being involved in financial decisions such as site selection. Several people at the meeting offered to help with this. There was general concern that a site needed to be chosen soon in order to secure adequate facilities.

#### 6. Committee Memberships (Jensen)

Membership for the Fellowship Committee and the Duvall Award Committee are complete, and nominations for APS Fellowship and the Duvall Award are being accepted through the APS web site. The deadline for Fellowship nominations is April 1, and the deadline for Duvall Award nominations is July 1. The Nominating Committee for next year's election will be chaired by the Past-Chair, Paulo Rigg. That committee still needs one or two additional members.

#### 7. Open Floor

There was some discussion about the membership level of the Topical Group. Various means of increasing membership were proposed. The Topical Group officers will discuss this in consultation with APS leadership.

#### 8. Adjourn (Jensen)

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 pm.

# Appendix A – Business meeting attendees who signed the attendance list

Brian Jensen

Mark Elert

Tim Germann

Ricky Chau

Scott Alexander

Jennifer Gottfried

James Cazamias

Matthew Lane

Igor Schweigert

Nirmal Kumar Rai

Mitchell Wood

Luke Shulenburger

Thomas Mattsson

Marvin Zocher