# 2014 Business Meeting of the APS Topical Group on Shock Compression of Condensed Matter

March 4, 2014, 5:45 PM, Room 502, Denver Convention Center (held in conjunction with the 2014 APS March Meeting)

# Agenda:

- 1. Welcome (Anderson)
- 2. Report of last elections (Elert)
- 3. Financial report (Elert)
- 4. Bylaw amendments (Elert)
- 5. Conference announcement SCCM15 (Oleynik/Elert)
- 6. Committee memberships (Anderson)
- 7. Open Floor
- 8. Adjourn

## 1. Welcome (Anderson)

The meeting was called to order by the Topical Group Chair, Bill Anderson, at 5:45 pm. A list of attendees is included as Appendix A.

# 2. Report of SCCM 2013 Elections (Elert)

The Secretary/Treasurer reported that the 2013 election was held from December 2, 2013 through January 3, 2014. There were 104 online ballots and four hardcopy ballots cast. The candidates are listed below, with winners' names in bold.

- Member-at-large (2 year term; 2 seats available):
- Scott Alexander
- David Chapman
- Eric Chisolm
- Stewart McWilliams
- William Proud
- Clive Siviour
- Eric Welle
- Vice-Chair (1 year term + succeeding posts; 1 seat available):

#### – Dan Dolan

- Sunil Dwivedi

The current officers of the Topical Group are:

- Chair: William Anderson (Los Alamos National Laboratory) through 2014, then Past-Chair
- Chair-Elect: Paulo Rigg (Los Alamos National Laboratory) through 2014, then Chair
- Vice-Chair: Dan Dolan (Sandia National Laboratories) through 2014, then Chair-elect
- Past-Chair: Tracy J. Vogler (Sandia National Laboratories) through 2014
- Secretary/Treasurer: Mark Elert (US Naval Academy) through 2015
- Member-at-large: Scott Alexander (Sandia National Laboratories), through 2015
- Member-at-large: Eric Chisolm (Los Alamos National Laboratory), through 2015
- Member-at-large: Chris Seagle (Sandia National Laboratories), through 2014
- Member-at-large: Dylan K Spaulding (Harvard University), through 2014

# 3. Financial Report (Elert)

Total assets as of 12/31/13 were \$245.5K. This includes the final accounting for the 2013 SCCM/AIRAPT meeting. The meeting made a profit of about \$50K.

# 4. Proposed Bylaw Amendments (Elert)

At the 2013 GSCCM business meeting, a proposal was made to have the Topical Group issue a Unit Statement regarding a ban on academic users at NIF. It turned out that we could not issue such a statement because we did not have a procedure in place to approve it. This prompted the Executive Committee of the Topical Group to act on two bylaw amendments that had been proposed by APS a few years ago to bring our GSCCM bylaws into conformity with those of other APS Units. Two proposed GSCCM bylaw amendments were approved by the Topical Group Executive Committee in July 2013 and were approved by APS Council at its November 2013 meeting. The proposed amendments were sent to all Topical Group members by email in January 2014. After discussion at this meeting, the proposals will be sent out for a vote by the Topical Group membership this spring.

Proposal #1: To approve a change to its bylaws, Article XII of the GSCCM bylaws requires an election with two-thirds approval of those voting AND at least 50% member participation in the election. The second requirement seems to be unique among APS Units and imposes an unnecessary barrier for the approval of bylaw amendments. The proposal is to eliminate the 50% participation requirement by deleting the last sentence of Article XII.

Proposal #2: Article XVI, Section D of the APS bylaws provides guidelines for the issuing of Unit Statements. Part 2 of this Section requires that a Unit must have a procedure in place in its bylaws for producing such a Unit Statement before any such statement can be approved by APS and issued to the public. This proposal is to establish such a procedure for GSCCM, using the wording suggested by APS.

After brief discussion, Mark Elert urged the members present to vote in the upcoming election regarding these bylaw amendments. A 50% participation rate has been rare in recent GSCCM elections; hence the need for Proposal #1.

## 5. Conference Announcement for SCCM15 (Oleynik/Elert)

The conference co-chairs for the 2015 GSCCM meeting will be Ivan Oleynik, Su Peiris, and Ramon Ravelo. Ivan was scheduled to make a brief presentation regarding the conference, but was unexpectedly called away. In his absence, Mark Elert reported that the meeting will be held at the Tampa Marriott Waterfront Hotel, June 14-19, 2015.

## 6. Committee Memberships (Anderson)

Bill reported that membership for the two standing committees of the Topical Group, the Nominating Committee and the Fellowship Committee, were nearly complete. According to the bylaws, the Nominating Committee is chaired by the Past-Chair, and the Fellowship Committee is chaired by the Vice-Chair of the Topical Group. [Since then, the rosters have been completed. The 2014 Nominating Committee will include Tracy Vogler (chair), Rick Kraus, Kanani Lee, Kit Neel, and Mark Burchell. The Fellowship Committee will include Dan Dolan (chair), John Clayton, Jennifer Jordan, and Mike Winey.]

# 7. Open Floor

There was some discussion about the fact that the assets of the Topical Group were now large enough to support any reasonable eventuality, so that the need for the next few biennial meetings to make a profit was diminished.

One member inquired about the membership level of the Topical Group. Bill Anderson replied that the current membership at the end of 2013 was 378. This is expected to drop a bit in 2014 but pick up again in 2015 when the next Shock Compression conference is held. The overall membership trend is gently upward.

## 8. Adjourn (Anderson)

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 pm.

## Appendix A – Business meeting attendees who signed the attendance list

Bill Anderson Mark Elert Scott Alexander Dan Dolan Chris Seagle Dawn Flicker Jon Eggert Dayne Fratanduono Aidan Thompson Matthew Lane Igor Schweigert Shabnan Monfared