## Business Meeting of the APS Topical Group on Shock Compression of Condensed Matter Thursday, June 28, 2007, Salon I-II, Fairmont Orchid Hotel, Hawaii

## **Agenda**

4:15 Call to order (Dave Funk) Introductory remarks (Dave Funk) Treasurers report (Tracy Vogler)

Old Business:

renaming of the shock compression award (Dave Funk)

New Business:

2008 March meeting joint session with DCOMP 2009 Shock Compression meeting update (Mike Furnish / Bill Anderson) 2011 Shock Compression conference jointly with high pressure society (AIRAPT) indexing of previous APS procedings (Gerrit Sutherland) Fall election results (Ricky Chau) Duties of chair, chair-elect, and vice-chair (Dave Funk) DOE/DoD attendance limits for shock conference (Mike Boteler) Group membership

Next executive meeting Member input (questions, issues, kudos)

5:15 Adjourn

## **Minutes of Meeting**

- Dave Funk (DF), president of the GSCCM, brought the meeting to order
- Tracy Vogler (TV), secretary-treasurer of the GSCCM, gave the treasurer's report: At the beginning of calendar year 2007, the group had approximately \$127k in its account.

Since then, the following expenses have been incurred:

\$5k transferred to the account for the shock compression award

\$11k for conference registration waivers for students

\$31k in student travel grants of \$1000 each

We have had approximately \$5k in income from memberships in the group and interest Some discussion occurred regarding the level of support appropriate for the travel grants.

There was the suggestion that travel grant need not be too large to entice graduate students to attend in many cases. TV pointed out that the decision on the amount of the travel grants for the next conference should be made by the executive committee well in advance of the 2009 meeting.

Ricky Chau, Chair of the 2007 conference, indicated that the 2007 conference will be somewhere between making \$10k or losing \$10k.

- Old business:
  - DF discussed changing the name of the shock compression award to the George Duvall award. Dave Moore (LANL) and Naresh Thadhani (Georgia Tech), chair of the awards committee, will take the lead on determining what steps are necessary for that to occur.
- New Business:
  - The possibility of a joint session with DCOMP at the APS March meeting was discussed. Marcus Knudson (SNL), vice-chair GSCCM, will coordinate the organization of that session.
  - There was inadequate participation by the topical group at the 2007 March meeting to qualify for dedicated sessions, though a joint session was held with Earth and Planetary sciences.
  - The 2009 shock conference will be held at the Gaylord hotel in Nashville, Tennessee, June 28-July 3. Chairs will be Mike Furnish (SNL), Bill Anderson (LANL), and Bill Proud (Cambridge). Concerns were voiced about the difficulty of travel on the last day of the conference, Friday July 3, due to the holiday on July 4. The chairs agreed to investigate ways around the problem.
  - Malcolm Nichol (UNLV) presented a proposal for a joint meeting in 2011 with AIRAPT (International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology) in Las Vegas.

Although it is too early for detailed arrangements to be made, two hotels in Las Vegas were interested in a 600-1000 attendee conference.

If GSCCM agrees, Malcolm will include that as part of his proposal to AIRAPT, which must be approved by their executive committee.

Bill Nellis (Harvard) raised some concerns about Las Vegas as a venue for the conference, which was followed by significant discussion on the merits of Las Vegas.

DF suggested considering a joint meeting and the location in Las Vegas as separate issues.

- A hand vote was taken for holding a joint meeting with AIRAPT. Two were opposed and the remainder were in favor.
- Additional discussions on the merits of a joint meeting with AIRAPT followed.

DF moved that the issue be discussed further by the executive committee. This was unanimously agreed to.

- Gerrit Sutherland (NSWC-IH) suggested indexing of past GSCCM proceedings. Mike Furnish commented on the feasibility of indexing.

Bill Proud indicated that the Cavendish Laboratory at Cambridge had already created such an electronic index that could be made available to the group.

- It was suggested that the index be included on the CD with the proceedings from the 2007 meeting.
- DF agreed to handle issues related to inclusion of the index with the proceedings and eventually putting it on-line.
- The issue of potential future restrictions on attendance at the shock conference by DOE and DoD was discussed. Marcus Knudson said that the position of DOE headquarters is that it was a one-time issue related to the meeting location in Hawaii and that future restrictions by DOE are not anticipated.
- The next executive committee meeting will be held the following day (June 29) at 7 am in conjunction with the session chairs' breakfast.
- Ricky Chau, past Secretary-Treasurer, read announced the results of the 2006 elections:

Vice-Chair – Marcus Knudson (SNL) Secretary-Treasurer – Tracy Vogler (SNL) Member at Large – Zbigniew Dreger (WSU) Member at Large – Joel Carney (NSWC-Indian Head)

- Member input:
  - Gerrit Sutherland suggested the group consider tackling data archiving. A brief discussion followed. Dave Moore agreed to investigate a possible avenue for data archiving through IUPAC and IUPAP.
  - The video/photo montage from the conference will put on the proceedings CD.
  - Photos for inclusion in the group newsletter should be sent to Bill Proud.
- The meeting was adjourned at approximately 5:20.

## Attendance List (32)

John Aidun (SNL) John Borg (Marquette Univ.) Eric Brown (LANL) Joel Carney (NSWC-Indian Head) Ricky Chau (LLNL) Jeff Colvin (LLNL) Paul DeCarli (SRI) Dana Dlott (U. of Illinois) Zbigniew Dreger (Washington State Univ.) Mark Elert (U.S. Naval Academy) Mike Furnish (SNL) David Funk (LANL) Tim Germann (LANL) Shiwei Gong (Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore) Rusty Gray (LANL) Yuki Horie (AFRL-Eglin AFB) Jennifer Jordan (AFRL-Eglin AFB) Marcus Knudson (SNL) Joel Kress (LANL) Ralph Menikoff (LANL) David Moore (LANL) Bill Nellis (Harvard Univ.) Malcolm Nicol (UNLV) Ivan Oleynik (U. of South Florida) Gerry Pangilina (NSWC-Indian Head) Suhithi Peiris William Proud (Cambridge Univ.) Ramon Ravelo (U. of Texas at El Paso) Paulo Rigg (LANL) Gerrit Sutherland (NSWC-Indian Head) Naresh Thadhani (Georgia Tech) Tracy Vogler (SNL)