Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants

NEWSLETTER

A Topical Group of The American Physical Society http://www.aps.org/units/pmfc No. 25 May 2003

2003 APS April Meeting in Philadelphia, April 5-8.

Our annual meeting was held in conjunction with the APS April meeting in Philadelphia, April 5-8. Our group co-sponsored two sessions. The focus session on "Phenomenology of Quantum Gravity," was organized by Ron Walsworth and chaired by Ted Jacobsen. The talk:

"Prospects for Lorentz and CPT Violation," Alan Kostelecky (Indiana University)

began the session and was followed by several shorter invited contributions. The invited session on "Precision Measurements for Industry" was organized by Jim Faller and chaired by Katharine Gebbie. The titles and speakers were:

"Ultrafast measurements of optoelectronic device physics," Steven Cundiff (JILA/NIST and Univ. Colorado),

2003 Election Results

The results for the 2003 election are as follows: Carol Tanner is elected to Vice-Chair, while Harvey Gould and Protik K. Majumder are elected to begin their terms as executive committee Members-at-Large. Terms begin with the end of this year's Annual Meeting at Philadelphia.

We thank the nominating committee of Ron Walsworth (Chair), Eric Burt and Linda Young.

INSIDE 2002 Annual Meeting ... 1 2003 Election Results ... 1 APS Fellows ... 1 2003 Frances M. Pipkin Award ... 1 Travel Support for Young Scientists ... 1 Electronic Newsletter ... 2 Current Executive Committee ... 2

"Superconducting Transition Edge Sensors," Blas Cabrera (Department of Physics, Stanford University),

"Precision Measurement of Low-Level Radioactivity in Environmental and Forensic Samples," Leticia Pibida (National Institute of Standards and Technology),

"National Needs for Appearance Metrology," Maria E. Nadal (National Institute of Standards and Technology)

"The Measurement of Optical Nonlinearities in Telecommunication Fibers - A New Approach Anthony M. Johnson (Physics Department, New Jersey Institute of Technology).

APS Fellows

The fellowship committee of GPMFC is chaired by our group's Vice-Chair. Each year the fellowship committee reviews and forwards the nominations of candidates whose work has significantly impacted the field of precision measurement and fundamental constants. Follow the fellowship links on the APS web site for procedures if you wish to nominate a candidate. This year, congratulations to our new APS Fellow:

Carol Elizabeth Tanner (University of Notre Dame), "For her contributions to the understanding of atomic structure through precision measurements of atomic lifetimes and transition amplitudes."

2003 Frances M. Pipkin Award to Eric A. Hessels

Congratulations to 2003 Frances M. Pipkin Awardee Eric A. Hessels of York University. His citation reads: "For a wide range of high precision measurements to test fundamental interactions in atomic physics, especially fine structure splittings in helium as a measure of the fine structure constant, and for an innovative experimental technique to create atoms of antihydrogen."

Travel Support for Young Scientists

Each year, the Topical Group provides partial travel support to several graduate students, post-docs, and recently graduated physicists to present contributed papers in the area of precision measurement and fundamental constants. In 2003, five awards were given to students presenting both at the annual meeting in Philadelphia and at DAMOP. Check the group web site for details (http://www.aps.org/units/pmfc educ at.html).

Electronic Newletters

At the 2002 annual executive and business meetings it was discussed and decided that our group newsletters would be posted, on a trial basis, on the Web (pdf and html format), and not sent out in hard copy. The annual savings would then be used to fund student travel grants. The executive committee welcomes feedback on this approach.

PMFCTG Executive Committee (2002-2003)

Chair:

Blayne Heckel
Department of Physics
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Phone: (206) 685-2401
Fax: (206) 685-0635
Email:heckel@phys.washington.edu

Chair-Elect

James Faller
JILA
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0440
Phone: (303) 492-8509
Fax: (303) 492-5235
E-mail: fallerj@jila.colorado.edu

Vice-Chair

Ronald L Walsworth
MS 59
Harvard-Smithsonian CFA
60 Garden St
Cambridge MA 02138
Phone: (617) 495-7274
Fax: (617) 496-7690
E-mail:
rwalsworth@cfa.harvard.edu

Past Chair:

Peter J. Mohr Bldg 225 Room B161, MA 8401 NIST 100 Bureau Dr

Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8401 Phone: (301) 975-3217 Fax: (301) 975-4578 E-mail: mohr@nist.gov

Secretary-Treasurer:

David Shiner
Department of Physics
University of North Texas
Denton, TX 76203-1427
Phone: (940) 565-3874
Fax: (940) 565-2515
E-mail: shiner@unt.edu

Members-at-Large (Year term expires in parentheses):

Jens H Gundlach (2005)

Nuclear Phys Lab Univ of Washington Box 324290 Seattle, WA 98195 Phone (206) 543-4080

Email: jens@phys.washington.edu

David Scott Weiss (2005)

Dept of Phys
Pennsylvania State Univ
104 Davey Lab
University Park, PA 16802
Phone (814) 863-3076
Fax (814) 865-3604
Email: dsweiss@phys.psu.edu

Luis A. Orozco (2004)

Department of Physics and Astronomy SUNY-Stony Brook Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800 Phone:(631) 632-8138 Fax:(631) 632-8176

Email: <u>luis.orozco@sunysb.edu</u>

Steven L. Rolston (2004)

100 Bureau Drive National Institute of Standards and Technology Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8424 Phone: (301) 975-6581 Fax: (301) 975-8272

E-mail: <u>steven.rolston@nist.gov</u>

David P. DeMille (2003)

Department of Physics Yale University New Haven, CT 06520-8120 Phone: (203) 432-3833 Fax: (203) 432-9710

E-mail: david.demille@yale.edu

John D. Prestage (2003)

JPL 298-104 Caltech 4800 Oak Grove Dr. Pasadena, CA 91109 Phone: (818) 354-3515

E-mail: john.d.prestage@jpl.nasa.gov

Committee Chairs

Program Committee: James Faller Nominating Committee: Ronald Walsworth Fellowship Committee: Ronald Walsworth Pipkin Award Committee: Gerald Gabrielse