Minutes of the Business Meeting of the APS Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants

Saturday 18 April, 1998

Columbus Ohio

Daniel Heinzen, (outgoing) Chair of the Topical Group opened the meeting at 4:35 PM. Approximately 12 members were present. The Agenda was:

- 1. Election Results
- 2. Treasurer's Report
- 3. Pipkin Award
- 4. Planning for the 1999 Centennial
- 5. Awarding of Fellowships
- 6. New Business

Election Results. Daniel Heinzen announced the results of the elections.

Peter Mohr (NIST, Gaithersburg) was elected Vice Chair. Peter Bender (JILA/ University of Colorado) moves up to become the Chair-Elect and Stephen R. Lundeen, (Colorado State University) moves up to become the Chair. Daniel J. Heinzen (University of Texas at Austin) becomes Past Chair, replacing Geoffrey Greene (LANL), who is rotating off.

Wayne Itano (NIST, Boulder) was elected Secretary-Treasurer, replacing Harvey Gould (LBNL) who is rotating off.

Ralph Conti (Univ. Of Michigan) and Steve Lamoreaux (LANL) were elected Members-at-Large, replacing outgoing members John Bollinger (NIST, Gaithersburg) and Priscilla Cushman, (U. Of Minnesota). The Executive Committee Members, as of the close of the Spring Meeting are:

Officers:

- Chair: Stephen R. Lundeen, Colorado State U. (1999)
- Chair Elect: Peter Bender, JILA, U. of Colorado (1999)
- Vice Chair: Peter Mohr, NIST, Gaithersburg (1999)
- Past Chair: Daniel Heinzen, U. Texas at Austin (1999)
- Secretary-Treasurer: Wayne Itano, NIST, Boulder (2001)

Members-at-Large:

- Ralph Conti, U of Michigan (2001)
- Edward Fry, Texas A&M U. (2000)
- Steve Lamoreaux, LANL (2001)
- Harold Metcalf SUNY, Stony Brook (2000)
- Edwin R. Williams, NIST, Gaithersburg, MD (1999)
- Linda Young, Argonne National Laboratory (1999)

The Vice Chair, and two Member-at-Large positions will be balloted next year.

Treasurers Report: Harvey Gould, the outgoing Secretary Treasurer reported that as of February 28, 1998 the TG had \$7.8K in assets, an increase of approximately \$900 from last year. This increase is largely the result of there having been no students claiming the \$600 in travel support. Membership had increased slightly to about 475 members.

Pipkin Award: Stephen Lundeen reported that the Pipkin Award was now a reality. The award, which will be given every other year, is open to nominees who at the time of their nomination are less than 15 years beyond their PhD. The first nomination deadline is July 1, 1998. The Selection Committee is headed by L.W. Anderson (Univ. Of Wisconsin). Over 150 donors contributed and the total fund of \$31K is sufficient to continue the award indefinitely. Steve Lundeen and Ed Eyler were thanked with a round of applause.

Centennial Meeting: A portion of the centennial program will need to be in place early. The TG anticipates that we will have two Centennial Sessions, one on clocks, jointly with DAMOP and one on fundamental constants, jointly with the Instrumentation TG. In addition there will be one regular invited session that will feature the first Pipkin Award winner plus three other invited talks.

Fellowships: The new APS fellows, Edward E. Eyler, University of Connecticut, and Larry R. Hunter, Amherst College were announced. Ed Eyler was present and Larry Hunter will receive his certificate by mail.

New Business: A member enquired if the NIST Precision Measurement grants were still being awarded. Peter Mohr said that they were. Announcements of these grants are usually carried in the TG Newsletter.

Thanks to Dan Outgoing Chair, Daniel Heinzen was thanked with a round of applause for a job well done. The TG on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants again completed a productive year.

Adjourn: The meeting was adjourned at 4:44 PM.