Minutes of the Business Meeting of the APS Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants

Sunday, 29 April 2001

Washington, DC

Peter Mohr called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM. 7 members were present.

Election results: In the recent Topical Group elections, James Faller was elected Vice Chair, David Shiner was elected Secretary-Treasurer, and Luis Orozco and Steven Rolston were elected Members-at-Large. Terms of the new officers began with the close of the 2001 Annual Meeting. At that time, Blayne Heckel became Chair-Elect, Richard Deslattes became Chair, and Peter Mohr became Past-Chair. Continuing Members-at-Large are John Prestage, David DeMille, Siu-Au Lee, and Anton Zeilinger. The nominating committee consisted of Siu-Au Lee (chair), John Price, and Winthrop Smith.

Pipkin Award: The 2001 Pipkin Award was given to Jens Gundlach of the University of Washington. The selection committee consisted of Linda Young (chair), Gerald Gabrielse (vice-chair), Steven Lamoreaux, Eric Adelberger, and Gordon Drake.

Membership statistics: The official membership count for FY 2001 is 408, which is 0.98% of the APS membership. This is a decrease, both in absolute and relative numbers from previous years. For FY 2000, the corresponding numbers were 431 and 1.01%. For FY 1999, they were 450 and 1.08%.

Financial report: As of March 31, 2001, the balance in the Topical Group account was \$15,187, up from \$13,717 on March 31, 2000 and \$11,782 on March 31, 1999. For the current fiscal year, which began in July, the total income was \$2,839, of which \$2,040 was from membership dues and \$799 was from investment income. Expenses for the current fiscal year were \$2,034, mainly for the newsletters and the election ballot, which was sent in a separate mailing. Anticipated additional expenses for the remaining part of the fiscal year were \$560 for mailing charts and wallet cards of the 1998 CODATA values of the fundamental constants and the Executive Committee lunch. The Pipkin Award fund held \$35,472, which is sufficient to continue giving a \$2000 award every other year.

2001 Program: Two invited sessions, "Experimental Gravity and Gravitational Radiation" and "Present Status and Future Prospects for LIGO, LISA, and Gravity Probe B," were organized jointly with the Topical Group on Gravitation and that another session, "Femtosecond Optical Frequency Comb Metrology," was organized by the GPMFC alone.

2000 Fellowship Committee: The 2000 Fellowship Committee consisted of Richard Deslattes (chair), Richard Davis, and Gordon Drake. No nominations were sent to the committee, although the Topical Group would have been allotted 2 slots.

2001 Fellowship Committee: The 2001 Fellowship Committee consists of Blayne Heckel (chair), Geoffrey Greene, and Luis Orozco. Three nominations have already been made.

APS Committees: The Topical Group has the opportunity to nominate members for various APS committees. These nominations are submitted in the summer.

Membership recruitment: Efforts to increase Topical Group membership will be made. Recruitment letters will be

sent to all members of DAMOP (Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics) and GGR (Topical Group on

Gravitation). Another letter will be sent to APS members who have recently dropped their GPMFC membership,

encouraging them to rejoin.

2002 Joint Meeting with DAMOP and the April 2002 APS Meeting: Blayne Heckel is the 2002 Program Chair. The 2002 GPMFC Annual Meeting will be held jointly with the DAMOP Annual Meeting, May 29-June 1, in Williamsburg, VA. We have been allotted 1.5 invited sessions (1 full and 1 joint session). In addition, an invited session for the April 2002 APS Meeting, will be organized, on a topic other than atomic, molecular, and optical physics. In 2003, the Topical Group will meet with the April APS Meeting.

Young Scientist Travel Grants: No applications were received for travel to the April 2001 meeting. The program will be continued and the maximum award is increased to \$400, with a maximum amount for all awards of \$1200. Young scientists traveling to either the April 2002 APS Meeting or to the 2002 joint DAMOP/GPMFC meeting will be eligible for these awards.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:47 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Wayne Itano, Secretary-Treasurer

Last modified: July 4, 2001.