Minutes for the GPMFC auxiliary EC meeting held on 6/15/20

The meeting was held via Zoom (set up by APS), starting at 11:00am Pacific time.

The main agenda item being discussed was how to go forward with the annual GPMFC workshop.

In Attendance:

- Susan Gardner (Chair 2019-2020)
- Derek Kimball (Chair-Elect 2019-2020)
- David Hanneke (Vice-Chair 2019-2020)
- Mike Snow (Vice-Chair-Elect 2020-2021)
- Thad Walker (Past-Chair 2019-2020)
- Eric Burt (Secretary/treasurer 2019-2022)
- Andrew Geraci (Member-at-large 2017-2020)
- Alex Sushkov (Member-at-large 2017-2020)
- Matt Dietrich (Member-at-large 2018-2021)
- Shannon Hoogerheide (Member-at-large 2018-2021)
- Jaideep Singh (Member-at-large 2019-2022)
- Beatrice Franke (Member-at-large-Elect 2020-2023)
- Joan Marler (Member-at-large-Elect 2020-2023)

The discussion started with some examples of how other topical groups manage annual workshops. In particular GHP, which has a biannual workshop that is managed from their EC. Examination of the by-laws showed that the workshop is implicitly covered, but some members expressed an interest in codifying this more explicitly as a way of guaranteeing equal representation of the GPMFC community. Others wanted to keep the flexibility that currently exists to choose people not on the EC to run the workshop.

Other key concerns expressed:

- It is desirable to broaden the workshop scope. Rotating organizers, as is done with the chair line, is essential to keeping a fresh perspective. It is unprecedented within the APS to have any position in perpetuity
- Having one EC member take part in the organization is a step in the right direction, but need to have EC run it if they want to.
- Need to start organization before October of each year. Chair should start the process, but which chair? Precedent says incoming chair (who will be chair at time of next workshop)
- Where does the organization of the workshop belong? It seems natural that the workshop be under the auspices of the program committee However, there is tension if have organizers of the workshop in perpetuity this is equivalent to having the workshop outside of program committee.

- The program committee should be responsible for making sure that the workshop happens, but running it is a choice. The program committee should have the option to solicit assistance from outside the EC
- Don't codify which position on the EC should run the workshop because in any given year that person may not be well-suited to that task
- Two aspects to organizing the workshop: 1) scientific content, 2) "making the trains run on time". Both need to be considered. Past organizers with a proven track record in (2) should be allowed to continue serving in this role as long as they want to.

A proposal was put forward to have the GPMFC chair (who is the defacto chair of the program committee) choose two EC members to run the workshop as part of the program committee. In addition, the two members chosen would be free to choose others not necessarily on the EC to be on the workshop organizing committee. The committee was in agreement that in 2021, the workshop would be organized by members of the EC, but for subsequent years it was left open and will be on the agenda for discussion in the next EC meeting in 2021.

For 2021, Lindley Winslow already volunteered to co-organize. Jaideep Singh volunteered to be the second.

Decisions:

- 1. Lindley Winslow and Jaideep Singh will be the GPMFC workshop co-organizers for 2021 and they can add consultants/expertise as they wish. The chair of the program committee is the GPMFC chair that's already determined. This is in addition to other responsibilities of the program committee such as organizing invited sessions in subsequent DAMOP/April conference. At this time the EC agreed that there is no need to formalize this by a change to the bylaws.
- 2. The decision on which EC members will organize future workshops (2022 and beyond) will be a running EC meeting agenda item.
- 3. Matt Dietrich will continue on with the Student Poster Competition committee as chair. Beatrice Franke volunteers to be second.

The meeting ended at 1:00pm Pacific time.