# **Division of High Polymer Physics**

## Business Meeting Minutes March 18, 1997 - Kansas City, MO

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Jeff Koberstein, at 5:45 p.m.

A motion was made to approve the minutes as distributed. Seconded and Passed.

## **Reports:**

Farmer (Secretary-Treasurer) reported that the division remains in good financial condition, having a balance of \$26912 as of 12/31/96. The previous year's balance had been \$20817.

Balazs reported that the auditors (Balazs and Shull) had inspected the financial records of the Division and had found them to be in order.

Koberstein announced the election results: Balazs was elected Vice-Chair, Cotts was elected Member-at-Large, Farmer was re-elected as Secretary-Treasurer and Lovinger was re-elected Councillor. The Division expressed its appreciation to Thomas and Fredrickson, who were retiring from the Executive Committee.

Koberstein reported that membership in the DHPP was 1221 as of 12/31/96, representing 3.06% of the APS total (39882).

Lovinger (Division Councillor) reported that the APS Council was considering a change in the Constitution and By-Laws to alter the membership criterion for retaining division status. Currently, to become and remain a division, a division must maintain a membership of X% of the APS membership. (The value of X is currently 3). The proposed change will introduce the new quantity Y to represent the percentage of members required to *retain* division status. The proposed value of Y will be 0.7X. All DHPP members are urged to cast their ballots in the affirmative on these amendments.

Tom McIlrath (new treasurer of the APS) was introduced.

Shull (Program Chair) reported that there were 263 contributed, 38 invited and 152 poster presentations on the program. The total was down from last year's 472. There had only been 10 submissions by hard copy instead of email. The Chair indicated that Friday sessions were here to stay.

Muthukumar (incoming Program Chair) solicited suggestions for themes and speakers for next year's meeting. He announced that there would be a Program Committee meeting on Wednesday evening and invited members to stop in with their suggestions or to email him at muthu@polysci.umass.edu. The topics for focused sessions will be announced as early as possible.

Amis (Education Chair) called upon Kornfield who reported that the Short Course had 45 students and netted about \$4000 for the division. Amis announced that the Short Course next year will be "Polymers in Electronics Applications". Suggestions of topics for tutorials and future short courses are welcome.

Koberstein presented Certificates of Fellowship to Douglas, Schweizer, and Bicerano. A Certificate will be mailed to Rafailovich.

Koberstein announced that Bates was the recipient of the 1997 High Polymer Physics Prize, that Balsara was the recipient of the 1997 Dillon Medal, and that Thomas T. Perkins (Stanford) was the recipient of the 1997 Padden Award. The University of Akron's support for a dinner for all Padden Award Symposium speakers was gratefully acknowledged.

Lodge (Publication Chair) reported that 31 papers had been submitted for the Special Issue and that 23 had appeared therein.

#### **Old Business:**

Koberstein indicated that a new DHPP Membership Directory was being assembled. An information card will be sent to members with an upcoming newsletter.

### **New Business:**

Koberstein announced that Elsevier Science, publisher of Polymer, has agreed to sponsor the Dillon Medal. He introduced Henri van Dorssen, Senior Publishing Editor of Polymer, and expressed the DHPP's gratitude for Elsevier's sponsorship.

Koberstein urged members to suggest names for candidates for positions on the Executive Committee to the Nominations Committee.

Koberstein announced that the March, 1998 DHPP meeting will be in Los Angeles. The 1999 Centennial meeting will be in Atlanta. Input for special symposia and events was solicited.

Farmer called for an expression of gratitude from the division for Koberstein.

Koberstein announced the Reception for the Ford Prize and Dillon Medal winners would immediately follow the business meeting. The sponsorship by Exxon, Polytechnic University, and Lucent Technologies was gratefully acknowledged.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:29 p.m.