APS Division of Polymer Physics, DPOLY, Business Meeting Minutes, March 3, 2015, San Antonio, TX

The meeting was called to order by Balsara (Chair) at approximately 5:50 pm.

Today's minutes recorded by Hudson (S/T).

Minutes for the meeting of March 4, 2014 were approved, and an outline of today's meeting was presented.

Reports

Hudson (S/T) reported the finances.

The auditors (Sanat Kumar and Chinedum Osuji) reported that they had inspected DPOLY's financial records and found them to be in order.

Balsara announced election results. Cheng will become Chair; Burghardt will become Chair-Elect; Kumar was elected Vice-Chair; Osuji was elected Member-at-Large; and Balsara will become Past-Chair. Dhinojwala and Hayward were thanked for standing for election. Retiring members Vaia and Winey were thanked for their service to the Executive Committee.

Vaia reported that approximately 150 new members signed up during the first two days. Membership was stable this year. Membership at the end of 2014 was 1421, which is 2.75% of the 51,523 total APS membership.

Epps reported about 2015 March Meeting program organization. He, the program committee and his team of sorters organized approximately 900 abstracts (10% of the APS total). New features included an industry day.

Perahia solicited input for the 2016 meeting. Please contact her at dperahi@clemson.edu.

Burghardt reported that the Short Course on glasses had 95 student, postdoctoral and faculty participants. Everyone expressed thanks to the organizers McKenna and Simon, and for the support of NSF.

Kumar discussed suggested topics for the next Short Course. Please contact him at sk2794@columbia.edu, to volunteer or give suggestions.

Cheng presented fellowship certificates to Jean-Louis Barrat, Michael Bockstaller, Oleg Gang, Valeriy Ginzburg, Rong-Ming Ho, Marcus Muller, Atsushi Takahara.

Balsara recognized Mark Ediger as winner of the 2015 Polymer Physics Prize.

Balsara recognized Chinedum Osuji as winner of the 2015 John H. Dillon Medal.

Balsara announced the awardees of the UK PPG DPOLY lecture exchange: Paola Carbone from U. Manchester to speak later in the week concerning "Multiscale Modelling of Polymers at Soft-bio Interface" and Bryan Boudouris to speak on "Solid State Charge Transport in Radical Polymers," at the PPG meeting in September 2015.

Burghardt introduced the finalists for the Padden Award, and announced Katherine Harry as this year's winner.

Balsara noted the following nomination deadlines this year:

- June 1: APS fellows
- July 1: Polymer Physics Prize and John H. Dillon Medal
- November: Frank J. Padden Jr. Award

Councilor Ediger reported about the major reorganization of APS governance.

New Business

Upcoming March Meetings: Baltimore, MD, March 14-18, 2016; New Orleans, LA, March 13-17, 2017; and Los Angeles, CA, March 5-9, 2018.

Expressions of Gratitude

Winey read a statement to remember and honor Edward J. Kramer, who died December 27, 2014.

Cheng thanked Balsara for excellent leadership and service and presented him with a certificate of appreciation. The membership expressed its gratitude in applause.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:30 pm.