Minutes, DPOLY Business Meeting March 22, 2011; Dallas TX

The meeting was called to order by the Chair (Larson) at 5:50 p.m.

It was moved to approve the minutes as distributed. Seconded and Passed.

Reports:

- Farmer (Secretary-Treasurer) reported that the division remains in good financial condition, having a balance of \$91038 as of 12/31/10. The previous year's balance had been \$94974.
- Foster and Winey (the appointed auditors) reported that they had inspected the financial records of the Division and had found them to be in order.
- Larson announced the election results: Lipson will become Chair, Torkelson will become Chair-Elect, Winey was elected Vice-Chair, and Foster was elected Member-at-Large. The Division expressed its appreciation to Composto and Genzer, who retire from the Executive Committee.
- Genzer reported that membership in the DPOLY was 1350 as of 12/31/10, representing 2.8% of the APS total (48263). He reported that 90 new members had been signed up at the membership table, and asked for more volunteers to help at the table.
- Pochan (Program Chair) reported that the program had 736 abstracts (569 presentations and 167 posters) in DPOLY sessions and represented 10% of the APS March Meeting Program. The Division expressed it appreciation to Pochan. Andrey Dobrynin was introduced as Program Chair for the next March Meeting and he solicited topics for focus sessions.
- Torkelson reported that the Short Course had been successful with 49 attendees and 9 speakers. He and the Division expressed their gratitude to Dvora Perahia for her efforts in organizing the SC. Suggestions for the 2012 Short Course were solicited and should be sent to Winey.
- Larson read the citations and presented Certificates of Fellowship to Char, Vaia, Chang, Simon, Dhinojwala, Jinnai, and Shi. Olmsted was not present and his will be mailed.
- Larson announced that Kremer and Grest were the recipients of the 2011 Polymer Physics Prize, and that Mezzenga was the recipient of the 2011 Dillon Medal. Torkelson announced that Scott Mullin was the recipient of the Padden Award and presented certificates to him and all the Padden finalists. Larson acknowledged support for the DPOLY Awards from the endowment from Dow and other donors, Elsevier, and the University of Akron. The Division's appreciation for the sponsors and recognition for the award winners were offered by a round of applause.
- Larson reported that the that Brad Olsen was the PPG-UK DPOLY Lecturer who would be going to the UK and that G. Battaglia had come from the UK to the APS DPOLY meeting.

Milner (Division Councilor) indicated that there was nothing to report from the APS Council.

Old Business:

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

- Larson announced the decision by the Exec Comm to extend the eligibility for the Dillon medal from 10 to 12 years in one year increments, noting that academic careers now tend to begin later.
- Larson called for nominations for Fellows, noting that there is an electronic submission process, and that nominations are due on May 1.

Nominations for the Polymer Physics Prize and Dillon Medal were solicited, due July 1.

Larson announced that the next meeting would be held in Boston, MA, Feb 27-March 2, 2012.

- Larson called for feedback from members of the Division. He recognized students from Penn State and Dartmouth who announced a Graduate Research Seminar at the summer Gordon Research Conference a day ahead of the regular GRC meeting. Milner voiced displeasure with the room situation and remoteness at the meeting. Thomas made a pitch for increased membership. Russell inquired about the earliness of the meeting in Boston next year.
- Lipson presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Larson and called for an expression of gratitude from the Division. She also called for an expression of gratitude for Farmer.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.