Minutes, DPOLY Business Meeting March 17, 2009; Pittsburgh, PA

The meeting was called to order by the Chair (Rubinstein) at 5:55 p.m.

It was moved to approve the minutes as distributed. Seconded and Passed.

Reports:

- Farmer (Secretary-Treasurer) reported that the division remains in good financial condition, having a balance of \$101,911 as of 12/31/08. The previous year's balance had been \$84538.
- Pochan and larson reported that they (the appointed auditors) had inspected the financial records of the Division and had found them to be in order.
- Ediger announced the election results: Composto will become Chair, Fredrickson will become Chair-Elect, Larson was elected Vice-Chair, and Pochan was elected Member-at-Large. The Division expressed its appreciation to Ediger and Shull, who retire from the Executive Committee.
- Farmer reported that membership in DPOLY was 1358 as of 12/31/08, representing 2.88% of the APS total (47189).
- Gido (Program Chair) reported that the program had 702 contributed abstracts (166 posters) in DPOLY sessions, 56 invited papers, and 16 in joint sessions with other divisions. The Energy session chaired by Balsara had received press attention. The Division expressed it appreciation to Gido. Dhinojwala was introduced as Program Chair for the next March Meeting.
- Fredrickson reported that the Short Course had been a smashing successful. He announced that the 2010 Short Course would be either on Ion Containing Polymers or on Organic Photovoltaics and Devices.
- Nazarenko solicited papers for the Special Issue of Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer Physics were solicited. Papers are due by June 1. Guest editors will be Nazarenko and Khare.
- Rubinstein, read the citations and, assisted by Composto, presented Certificates of Fellowship to Beaucage, Forrest, Krausch, Krishnamoorti, Matsen, Nealey, and Spontak. He called for nominations for fellowship, noting the deadline of April 15.
- Rubinstein announced that Granick was the recipient of the 2009 Polymer Physics Prize and that Ganesan was the recipient of the 2009 Dillon Medal. He recognized Aline Miller from University of Manchester and Connie Roth of Emory University as the UK PPG-DPOLY Lectureship winners. Roth will present in Bristol inSeptember. Susan Fullerton was announced as the recipient of the 2009 Padden Award. Rubinstein acknowledged support for the DPOLY Awards from GE Central Research, Elsevier, and the University of Akron.
- Milner (Division Councilor) noted that APS was putting a virtual physics journal on-line, expressing concern about lack of definition on how papers were to be selected.

Old Business:

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

- Rubinstein acknowledged Jan Genzer's efforts to revamp the DPOLY website and called for images and announcements that could be posted there.
- Rubinstein called for nominations for Fellows, noting that there is now an electronic submission process, and that a list of Fellows is available on the website.
- Nominations for the Polymer Physics Prize and Dillon Medal were solicited, due July 1. Nominations are now submitted electronically.
- Rubinstein announced that the next meeting would be held in Portland, OR March 15-19, 2010..
- Rubinstein called for feedback and nnouncements from members of the Division. He recognized Freddy Khoury who noted that the NSF DMR Director would be speaking on Wednesday at 5:45 in room 316. Regards were conveyed to Andy Lovinger.

Composto presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Rubinstein and called for an expression of gratitude from the Division.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:25 p.m.