Minutes, DPOLY Business Meeting March 14, 2006 Baltimore, MD

The meeting was called to order by the Chair (Muthukumar) at 5:45 p.m.

It was moved to approve the minutes as distributed. Seconded and Passed.

Reports:

- Farmer (Secretary-Treasurer) reported that the division remains in good financial condition, having a balance of \$79013 as of 12/31/05. The previous year's balance had been \$66249.
- Shull reported that he (the appointed auditor) had inspected the financial records of the Division and had found them to be in order.
- Muthukumar announced the election results: Ediger was elected Vice-Chair, Shull was elected Member-at-Large. The Division expressed its appreciation to Register and Douglas, who were retiring from the Executive Committee.
- Muthukumar reported that membership in the DPOLY was 1252 as of 12/31/05, representing 2.75% of the APS total (45519). Balsara reported the membership table had added about 110 members and thanked all those who had helped at the table.
- Hudson (Program Chair) thanked those who had helped with program suggestions and at the sorters meeting. He said two International travel awards were submitted, that the program had 785 abstracts in DPOLY sessions and 878 titles in the booklet, representing about 12% of the meeting. 200 posters represented about 22% of posters at the meeting. Jan Genzer, incoming Program Chair asked for suggestions for focused topics and welcomed volunteers for the sorters meeting.
- Loo (organizer) reported that the Short Course was attended by 28 people and would generate a profit of about \$2000. Mayes announced that the 2007 Short Course would be on AFM of polymers and biopolymers.
- Muthukumar read the citations and presented Certificates of Fellowship to Melnichenko, Runt, Santore, Szleifer, and Watanabe. Certificates will be mailed to Rutledge and Kremer. Muthukumar called for nominations for fellowship, noting the deadline of 15 April.
- Muthukumar announced that Leibler was the recipient of the 2006 Polymer Physics Prize, that Urayama was the recipient of the 2006 Dillon Medal, and that Massa (McMaster) was the recipient of the 2006 Padden Award. Muthukumar acknowledged support for the DPOLY Awards from GE Central Research, Elsevier, and the University of Akron. Nominations were encouraged for the 2007 prizes, due July 1 and to be sent to Granick.
- Lodge (Councilor) reported that all was sweetness and light with the APS.
- Lovinger (Former Councilor) provided an update on developments at NSF. He said DMR would has a new program in Biomaterials beginning in Fall or 2006. He also said Cyber (infrastructure, science, discovery) is coming and is likely to be bigger than nano. He said it was not a good fit to DMR but needed to have a foothold in the program. Henning Winter is on a task force to define the role. Tom Weber is no longer director of DMR and a search is underway to find a replacement. (NSF prefers 2-3 year rotators). An NSF/DMR presentation would be offered the next evening at the meeting.

Old Business:

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

Muthukumar emphasized the need for serious attention being given to nominations for Fellowship and Prizes, noting the due dates for each. announced that the deadline for Fellowship nominations was April 15 and for Prizes was July 1. He encouraged nominations for all.

Muthukumar announced that the next meeting would be held in Denver, CO, March 5-9, 2007. Muthukumar called for feedback from members of the Division. There was none.

Granick presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Muthukumar and called for an expression of gratitude from the Division.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15 p.m.