Minutes, DPOLY Business Meeting March 23, 2004 Montreal, Quebec, Canada

The meeting was called to order by the Chair (Bates) at 5:40 p.m. It was moved to approve the minutes as distributed. Seconded and Passed.

Reports:

- Farmer (Secretary-Treasurer) reported that the division remains in good financial condition, having a balance of \$61639 as of 12/31/03. The previous year's balance had been \$ 60312.
- Balsara reported that the auditors (Granick and Balsara) had inspected the financial records of the Division and had found them to be in order.
- Bates announced the election results: Granick was elected Vice-Chair, Balsara was elected Member-at-Large. The Division expressed its appreciation to Milner and Winey, who were retiring from the Executive Committee.
- Bates reported that membership in the DPOLY was 1278 as of 12/31/03, representing 2.95% of the APS total (43258).
- Balsara (Program Chair) reported that there were 614 papers total in the DPOLY sessions (55 invited, 433 contributed talk and 126 contributed posters), representing 9.5% of the abstracts on the program for the March meeting. The polymer sorting category was the third largest for the meeting. Next year, DPOLY will get an extra invited session. The division expressed its gratitude to Balsara for the job he had done as program chair. David Morse is incoming Program Chair. Suggestions for focused topics for next year were solicited.
- Burghardt (organizer) reported that the Short Course was attended by 21 people and was deemed a great success. The Division expressed its gratitude to Burghardt for organizing this year's short course. Muthukumar (Education Chair) indicated that the topic for next year was to be Charged Polymers, organized by Tom Seery.
- Bates recognized Surita Bathia, guest editor for this year's special issue of J. Polym. Sci.-Polym. Phys. Manuscripts are due on April 15.
- Bates read the citations and presented Certificates of Fellowship to Milner, Winey, Mayes, Burghardt, and Klein. He solicited fellowship nominations from the membership for future consideration.
- Bates announced that Lodge was the recipient of the 2003 Polymer Physics Prize, that Muller was the recipient of the 2003 Dillon Medal, and that Eric Cochran (U. Minn.) was the recipient of the 2003 Padden Award. Milner acknowledged support for the DPOLY Awards from Elsevier and the University of Akron.
- Bates announced that Jerry Schultz and Tim Lodge had agreed to be candidates in the up-coming DPOLY Councilor elections. Further nominations will be solicited from the membership by email.

Old Business:

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

- Bates urged DPOLY members to write to their congressional representatives concerning the need for support for science. He noted that the APS had computers set up for the purpose and to make the task easy.
- Freddy Khoury offered remembrances of Jack Hoffman who passed away recently. Buck Crist also offered comments and noted that a symposium on semicrystalline polymers was being organized in Hoffman's honor at the summer ACS meeting in Philadelphia.

Bates noted that 2004 is DPOLY's 60th year.

Bates announced that Ford Motor Company was no longer sponsoring the Polymer Physics Prize (as of the 2004 prize). He said that DPOLY Executive Committee was working to identify a sponsor for a 5-year term or to endow the Prize (about \$200K needed to endow). The division had agreed to sponsor the prize for 2 years if necessary.

Bates announced that the next meeting would be held in Los Angeles, CA, March 21-25, 2005.

- Bates called for feedback from members of the Division. There was enthusiasm for the Sunday reception, which was well attended. There was a call for better coordination between the DPOLY and DBP programs.
- Register presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Bates and called for an expression of gratitude from the Division. Bates expressed appreciation for the efforts of the Secretary-Treasurer.
- Bates announced the reception for the Polymer Physics Prize winner would immediately follow the business meeting.
 - Sponsorship by the University of Minnesota was gratefully acknowledged.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:18 p.m.