Minutes, DPOLY Business Meeting

March 21, 2000 Minneapolis, MN

The meeting was called to order by the Chair (Balazs) at 5:45 p.m.

A motion was made to approve the minutes as distributed. Seconded and

Passed.

Balazs acknowledged the efforts of Tim Lodge in organizing the DPOLY Sunday reception and called for a volunteer for next year's meeting.

Reports:

Farmer (Secretary-Treasurer) reported that the division remains in good financial condition, having a balance of \$34834 as of 12/31/99. The previous year's balance had been \$ 29554

Briber reported that the auditors (Colby and Briber) had inspected the financial records of the Division and had found them to be in order.

Balazs announced the election results: Colby was elected Vice-Chair, Briber was elected Member-at-Large. The Division expressed its appreciation to Amis and Cotts, who were retiring from the Executive Committee.

Farmer reported that membership in the DPOLY was 1053 as of 12/31/99, representing 2.47% of the APS total (42662). Farmer noted the dismal membership trend and addressed the division on the problem of membership and its continuing importance to the division.

Green (for the Program Chair) reported that there were 527 contributed and 24 invited presentations on the program. The division expressed its gratitude to Sanat Kumar for the job he had done as program chair.

Milner (Education Chair) reported that the Short Course was attended by about 40 people. He indicated that the topic for next year was likely to be on Simulations. The Division expressed it gratitude to Granick for organizing this year's short course.

Balazs read the citations and presented Certificates of Fellowship to Galvin, Kornfield, Mirau, Torkelson, and Wu.

Balazs announced that Fetters was the recipient of the 2000 High Polymer Physics Prize, that Burghardt was the recipient of the 2000 Dillon Medal, and that Loo was the recipient of the 2000 Padden Award. Balazs acknowledged support for the DPOLY Awards from the Ford Motor Company, Elsevier, and the University of Akron.

Gido (Publication Chair) reported that 17 papers had been submitted for the Special Issue and that 14 had been accepted and published in the special issue. Two additional papers were also processed and appeared in later issues. Foster solicited papers for this year's edition, due by April 1. He announced that the issue this year would be a virtual one, with papers being available on line as soon as they were accepted in final form and that all members of DPOLY would have access to the issue irrespective of whether their institutions subscribed to the journal.

Lovinger (Councillor) reported that effort to reduce the size of the APS Council had resulted in a recommendation that each division be represented by one councillor. This would increase the voice of DPOLY since large and small divisions would then have the same representation. The proposed wording will appear in Physics News and then be submitted to the APS membership for approval. Lovinger also pointed out that his term as Councillor will end at the end of this calendar year.

Old Business:

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

Balazs announced that Tim Lodge and Tom Russell had been asked to be candidates for Division Councillor and that both had agreed to run for that position.

Balazs announced that the next meeting will be held in Seattle, March

12-16, 2001.

Balazs called for feedback from members of the Division.

The continuing problem of small rooms assigned to DPOLY sessions was discussed. It was suggested that session chairs (or perhaps an undergrad student assistants) estimate our attendance and approach the APS. It was noted that convention centers generally over-estimate the size of rooms and that a DPOLY representative in the meeting city should be asked to visit the center and inspect the rooms.

It was suggested that the Division avoid sponsoring symposia that overlap with our own plenary speakers.Balazs brought to the attention of the Division that session V2 (Thursday, 2:30) was cosponsored by DPOLY and FIAP and would deal with academic/industry interactions.

Schweizer presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Balazs and called for an expression of gratitude from the Division.

Balazs announced the reception for the Ford Prize and Dillon Medal winners would immediately follow the business meeting. The sponsorship by Exxon and Northwestern University was gratefully acknowledged.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:28 p.m.