APS Division of Polymer Physics, DPOLY, Business Meeting

Minutes, March 5, 2019, Boston, MA

Darrin Pochan (Chair) welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at approximately 5:45 pm.

Today's minutes recorded by Steve Hudson (S/T).

Minutes for the meeting of March 6, 2018 were approved.

Reports

- Pochan noted two things for attention during the coming year: membership and increasing the Polymer Physics Prize endowment.
- Division Councilor Muthu reported that APS will be requiring each unit to have student or postdoc representation on the executive committee. Division bylaws will be adjusted, while implementing this.
- Hudson reported the finances, showing account balances over the past 12 years, encompassing the history of the Polymer Physics Prize endowment fund, which was initiated in 2007 with donations from previous Prize winners (\$42k), and fortified in 2008 and 2009 with donations from Dow Chemical Co (\$165k) and LG Chemical Co (10k), and with a 2011 transfer of \$23k from DPOLY operating funds. This fund is healthy remaining a value above 20 times its annual expenditures, according to the previous APS guideline. A new APS guideline now is a value of 30 times, requiring the addition of new funds to the current balance of \$244k. Operating fund is at nearly \$114k; the Dillon Medal fund (supplied by Elsevier Publishing) at \$5678. Support for the Short Course this year ExxonMobil, Eastman, Xenocs, NSF, and DoE was gratefully acknowledged.

Addendum: Correction: The balance of the Polymer Physics Prize endowment at Dec 2018 was actually \$301k, because APS Board designated an addition of \$56,818 from APS operating funds to the account.

The auditor (Thomas Epps III) reported DPOLY's financial records to be in order.

Pochan noted that DPOLY strategy must be to increase membership and meeting participation.

- Concerning the DPOLY executive committee, Pochan thanked retiring members Sanat Kumar and Lynn Loo for their service. Pochan also announced election results: Ramanan Krishnamoorti to Vice-Chair and Thomas Epps III to Member-at-Large, and thanked Spiros Anastasiadis, Chris Soles, and Laura Clarke for standing for election. Jan Genzer will become Chair; Frischknecht will become Chair-Elect; and Pochan will become Past-Chair.
- Membership numbers were reported and discussed by Pochan and Lynn Loo. DPOLY membership at the end of 2018 was 1554, which is 2.82% of the 55,158 total APS membership. DPOLY membership is up slightly and in proportion. 72 new members signed up at the membership table.

Invited speakers were asked to join the division, and DPOLY plans an international recruitment effort.

Hudson reported about a member forum website <u>www.dpoly.org</u> initiated last year by Chinedum Osuji. During the first year of operation, the site has had 176 subscribers, 58 positions were posted, and 120 sought positions. Please take advantage of it.

Hudson noted that summer internship announcements can be posted free on APS careers. <u>www.aps.org/careers/</u> Michael Thoennessen (APS Editor in Chief) announced a new fully open access journal: Physical Review Research. journals.aps.org/prresearch

David Simmons (DPOLY Program Committee Chair 2019) reported about the 2019 March Meeting program and outlined a strategy for growth. Members of the program committee include Vice-Chair Connie Roth, Pinar Akcora and others.

Simmons noted a substantial growth in DPOLY contributed abstracts for the first time since 2012, 898 abstracts up from 749, representing 8.7% of APS total, up from 8.2%. He concluded: The only time DPOLY has seen appreciable growth is when we have broadened our definition of our field. Topically, this involved strong pushes into polymer rheology, chirality, big data, advanced manufacturing, and dielectric spectroscopy. Big data was popular this year. Functionally, session organizers and invited speakers were selected beyond our membership.

The total number of abstracts was 995 (40 invited-session invited, 57 focus-session invited, 731 oral contributed and 166 posters). DPOLY led 24 focus sessions and 46 other sessions. DPOLY co-sponsored another 20 sessions led by sister units. The poster session has awards for students and postdocs, sponsored by J. Polymer Sci: Polymer Physics (Wiley).

Simmons reported DPOLY meeting demographics and noted need for much greater diversity, including among women, Hispanic, Black and industry. Thus in 2019, the female participation among invited speakers and session organizers was substantially increased (nearly doubled).

Thanks was given to member input, session organizers, sorters, the Program Committee and APS staff.

NSF Polymers Q&A and Decadal Workshop Summary with Andy Lovinger immediately following the DPOLY business meeting was announced.

Roth solicited help in organizing next year's program. Please contact her at <u>cbroth@emory.edu</u>. The 2020 meeting organization begins now.

Gila Stein reported that the DPOLY Short Course: X-ray and Neutron Scattering for Polymer Science had 50 participants, with support from ExxonMobil, Eastman, Xenocs, NSF, and DoE.

Thanks were expressed to the organizer Stein.

Pochan mentioned that Ramanan Krishnamoorti is beginning plans to find an organizer for the 2020 Short Course, which may be focused on Machine Learning & Data Analytics Inspired Polymer Physics. Please contact him at ramanan@uh.edu.

Genzer presented fellowship certificates to Mark Foster, Ryan hayward, Chinedum Osuji and Keiji Tanaka. Fellowship nominations are due June 3.

Pochan recognized

Ron Larson as winner of the 2019 Polymer Physics Prize.

Zahra Fakhraai as winner of the 2019 John H. Dillon Medal.

Nacho Martin-Fabiani-Carrato as the UK Polymer Physics Group representative and invited speaker at our meeting. Pochan noted that announcement of the DPOLY ambassador to UKPPG's upcoming September meeting will be announced shortly.

Frischknecht introduced the Padden finalists this year: Yuecheng Zhou, Melody Morris, Tyler Lytle, Whitney Loo,

Yeongun Ko, Jin-Seong Kim, Kaichen Gu, Thomas Gartner, Karim Gadelrab, Michael Deagen, and Liwen Chen.

Frischknecht announced Liwen Chen as this year's winner.

Reminder: registration grants for international Padden finalists.

Pochan noted that nomination deadlines for the Polymer Physics Prize, John H. Dillon Medal, and APS fellows are all due June 3 this year.

The Frank J. Padden Jr. Award nomination deadline is October 25.

New and other Business

Upcoming March Meetings: Denver, CO, March 2-6, 2020; Nashville, TN, March 15-19, 2021; Chicago, IL, February 28 -March 4, 2022.

Hudson announced a.) the AIChE excellence in graduate polymer research symposium and b.) CHRNS Summer School on Methods and Applications of Neutron Spectroscopy July 22 – 26.

Expressions of Gratitude

Genzer thanked Pochan for excellent leadership and service and presented him with a certificate of appreciation. The membership expressed its gratitude in applause.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:40 pm.