APS Division of Polymer Physics, DPOLY, Business Meeting

Minutes, March 6, 2018, Los Angeles, CA

The meeting was called to order by Sanat Kumar (Chair) at approximately 5:45 pm.

Today's minutes recorded by Steve Hudson (S/T).

Minutes for the meeting of March 14, 2017 were approved.

Reports

- Kumar introduced our current challenge that if we don't grow our March Meeting program, our invited talk allocation is projected to drop in coming years. Specifically, DPOLY has historically had 8 invited sessions, and in future years this number will depend somehow on DPOLY participation in the meeting, which as a fraction of the entire APS March Meeting in the past three years has declined. The number of DPOLY abstracts has been essentially constant, while the total has increased. Specifically, in the current year DPOLY comprises 8% of the March Meeting, whereas two years ago it was approximately 10%. Additional details are reported below.
- Kumar noted that the business meeting would be followed by two events: 1.) a Q&A with Andy Lovinger from NSF, including discussion and distribution of the recent decadal workshop report, "Frontiers in Polymer Science and Engineering", and 2.) a reception sponsored by the RSC Soft Matter Journal.
- Hudson reported the finances which are steady, noting major expenses (such as the DPOLY program booklet, approximately \$10k) and income. The Polymer Prize endowment (established by Dow Chemical, LG Chemicals, and individual donors) stands at \$241k, Operating funds at \$99k, the Dillon Medal fund (supplied by Elsevier Publishing) at \$3k. Support for the Short Course this year from Cooper Standard, DSM, ExxonMobil, Avery Dennison, Macromolecues & MacroLetters, and Appia was gratefully acknowledged. Membership and meeting participation are key factors to DPOLY's financial health.
- The auditors (Amalie Frischknecht and Alan Nakatani) reported that they had inspected DPOLY's financial records and found them to be in order.
- Kumar announced election results. Darrin Pochan will become Chair; Jan Genzer will become Chair-Elect; Frischknecht was elected Vice-Chair; Nakatani was elected Member-at-Large; and Kumar will become Past-Chair. Jack Douglas and Azar Alizadeh were thanked for standing for election. Retiring members Wes Burghardt and Chinedum Osuji were thanked for their service to the Executive Committee.
- Osuji reported membership numbers. DPOLY membership at the end of 2017 was 1523, which is 2.77% of the 55,368 total APS membership. Both DPOLY and APS grew (each by approximately 2 %) in the past year. Some other units such as GSNP and GSOFT are growing faster.
- Osuji noted that 40% of the speakers in DPOLY sessions are not DPOLY members. They have been solicited by email to join. Please encourage your colleagues to join.
- Osuji announced a new DPOLY website www.dpoly.org, which he administers. This is a resource for DPOLY and related communities. It launched February 1, and has 130 registered members. Various features were described including posting of positions and people available. Check it out.
- Ryan Hayward reported about 2018 March Meeting program organization, with many thanks to member input, session organizers, sorters, committees and APS staff. The program committee (vice chaired by David Simmons) and the team of sorters organized approximately 847 abstracts (~8.1% of the APS total) and 84 invited presentations. He noted that the APS March Meeting program grew 17 % from 2016. Large increases in DCOMP (+366), DCMP (+744), DBIO (+197), GQI (+183), GMAG (+154).
 - Symposia in honor of William Graessley and Joon Roe, the Wednesday poster session (with competition sponsored by Journal of Polymer Science Part B: Polymer Physics) and 20 DPOLY-led focus sessions were noted.
- Hayward described the new sorting approach that APS implemented this year. As part of DPOLY's efforts, Hayward held a virtual sorters meeting with 34 participants.

Simmons solicited help in organizing next year's program, with intentions to repeat the virtual sorters meeting. Please contact him at dsimmon@uakron.edu. Invited and Focus Sessions will be arranged during April to July; please provide ideas for a vibrant program. The abstract deadline this year is Oct 26.

Bradley Olsen reported that the DPOLY Short Course: The Gel, Elastomer, and Network Experience (GENE) had 75 participants, with support from Cooper Standard, DSM, ExxonMobil, Avery Dennison, Macromolecues & MacroLetters, and Appia.

Thanks were expressed to the organizers Olsen and Costantino Creton.

Frischknecht requested ideas for the next Short Course. Her initial suggestions were a.) big data, machine learning, and high throughput experiments, or b.) scattering methods. Please contact her at alfrisc@sandia.gov.

Pochan presented fellowship certificates to Thomas Epps III, Raffaele Mezzenga, Ras Pandey, Christopher Stafford, and Francis Starr.

Fellowship nominations are due June 1.

Kumar recognized Juan dePablo as winner of the 2018 Polymer Physics Prize.

Kumar recognized Brad Olsen as winner of the 2018 John H. Dillon Medal.

Genzer noted that one of the selected Padden finalists could not get a visa in time, and so he will be included in the finalists next year.

The finalists this year are: Akash Arora, Youngwoo Choo, Jelena Dinic, Kang Hee Ku, Ha-Kyung Kwon, David Nicholson, Thomas O'Connor, Ryan Poling-Skutvik, Ksenia Timachova, Edward Trigg, and Chao Wang.

Genzer announced Jelena Dinic as this year's winner.

Reminder: registration grants for international Padden finalists.

Kumar noted that nomination deadlines for the Polymer Physics Prize, John H. Dillon Medal, and APS fellows are all due June 1 this year.

The Frank J. Padden Jr. Award nomination deadline is October 26.

Division Councilor Muthu encouraged development of an exciting program so that we can grow our participation at the March Meeting.

New and other Business

Upcoming March Meetings: Boston, MA, March 4-8, 2019; Denver, CO, March 2-6, 2020; and Nashville, TN, March 15-19, 2021.

Kumar announced that Physical Review Materials seeks manuscript submissions, and noted that Frank Bates, Chinedum Osuji and Bradley Olsen serve on its editorial board.

Frischknecht announced the upcoming Gordon Research Conference on Polymer Physics July 22-27, 2018, and Michael Thees and Danielle Mai announced the Gordon Research Seminar on Polymer Physics July 21 and 22. Graduate students and postdocs (one per research group) can request scholarships, by contacting mthees@emory.edu and <a href="mailto:dipmail

Mitchel Wang <u>mwang@northwestern.edu</u> and Megan Robertson <u>mlrobertson@uh.edu</u> announced AIChE's student competition (Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research), whose application deadline is April 18, 2018.

Kumar announced a Summer School on Methods and Applications of Small Angle Neutron Scattering and Neutron Reflectivity https://www.ncnr.nist.gov/summerschool/ss18/index.html at NIST, June 19-23, 2018.

Expressions of Gratitude

Pochan thanked Kumar for excellent leadership and service and presented him with a certificate of appreciation. The membership expressed its gratitude in applause.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:33 pm.