

A Division of The American Physical Society

May 1996

ARTICLES

Message from the Chair Suggestions Needed for "Images of Materials" archive 1996-97 Division of Materials Physics Executive Committee

Message from the Chair

With the St. Louis March Meeting past, and the summer rapidly approaching, I want to alert members of the Division of Materials Physics to several upcoming events.

Call for Proposals for Focused Sessions Due by June 1

The DMP Executive Committee is now starting work on next year's March Meeting! Suggestions for Focused Sessions, including draft calls-for-papers and recommended organizers, should be sent to me (G. S. Cargill, 96-97 DMP Chair, Columbia Univ., 1144 Mudd Bldg., 500 W. 120th St., New York, NY 10027; or gsc15@columbia.edu) no later than June 1. The DMP EC work during the month of June using these suggestions in putting together the final list of March Meeting sessions and organizers. The list of topics from March 1996 is given elsewhere in this newsletter. We welcome volunteers for these topics, as well as suggestions and volunteers for other topics which you think would be of interest to the materials physics community.

Call for Nominations for Adler Award Due by July 1

Nominations for the David Adler Lectureship Award should be sent to me no later than July 1. Recent recipients of this distinguished award have been Brian Maple (1996), Marc Kastner (1995), and Max Lagally (1994). The purpose of the award is to recognize an outstanding contributor to the field of materials physics who is noted for the quality of his/her research, review articles and lecturing. Other information about the award is available from the DMP home page (/units/dmp/).

Call for Nominations of Fellows

The Division of Materials Physics can recommend seven to 10 individuals each year for designation as Fellows of the APS. Nomination forms are available from the APS. The deadline for submissions to reach the APS is February 15. I encourage our membership to nominate outstanding members of the materials physics community for this recognition. In addition to the two-page nomination form, letters of recommendation giving specific

details of the nominee's accomplishments will be valuable to the Fellowship Committee in making its decisions.

Visit the DMP Home Page

The newly elected DMP Secretary-Treasurer, Sam Bader, has begun setting up a DMP Home Page (/units/dmp/) as a source of up to date information on DMP activities, and to supplement our "paper" newsletters. Please take a look at it.

Besides our work in organizing March Meeting Focus Sessions and in recognizing professional accomplishments through awards and fellowships, the DMP Executive Committee is actively representing the interests of the materials physics community in Washington, through direct contacts with members of the legislative and executive branches, and through participation in the Federation of Materials Societies and through teaming with other organizations. We welcome advice and feedback from the DMP membership in these areas, just as we seek involvement by the membership in maintaining effective communication with elected government representatives.

The resources available to DMP for its various activities depend directly on the number of APS members who are affiliated with DMP. Therefore, I urge that you not only continue your affiliation with DMP, but that you urge your colleagues who may not yet be DMP members to join us.

In addition to your suggestions for Focused Sessions, Invited Speakers, candidates for Fellows and for the Adler Award, if you have any suggestion for how the DMP may better serve you, please send them to me or to Sam Bader.

G. Slade Cargill III

Please send graphics to build an "Images of Materials" archive and other suggestions for the DMP home page to:

Sam Bader Materials Science Division, Bldg. 223 Argonne National Laboratory 9600 S. Cass Ave. Argonne, IL 60439 Tel: (708) 252-4960

FAX: (708) 252-9595 Email: bader@anl.gov

1996-97 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Division of Materials Physics

G. Slade Cargill III, Chair

Dept. of Chem. Engr., Mat. Sci. & Mining Engr.

Columbia University New York, NY 10027 500 W. 120th St.

Tel: (212) 854-6167 FAX: (212) 854-6278

Email: GSC15@columbia.edu

James W. Davenport, Vice Chair Elect

Department of Applied Science, Bldg. 179A

Brookhaven Nationa Lab Tel: (516) 344-3789

FAX: (516) 344-4130 Email: Daven@bnl.gov

James B. Roberto, Vice Chair

MS6030 Solid State Division Oak Ridge National Laboratory

P.O. Box 2008

Oak Ridge, TN 37831 Tel: (423) 576-0227

FAX: (423) 574-4143 Email: robertojb@ornl.gov

Samuel D. Bader, Secretary/Treasurer (1996-99)

Materials Science Division, Bldg. 223 Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne National Laboratory 9600 S. Cass Ave.

Argonne, IL 60439 Tel: (708) 252-4960

FAX: (708) 252-9595 Email: bader@anl.gov

Howard K. Birnbaum, Councillor (1996-2000)

Department of Metallurgy University of Illinois 1304 West Green St. Urbana, IL 61801

Tel: (217) 333-1370 FAX: (217) 244-2278

Email: Birnbaum@uimrl7.mrl.uiuc.edu

J. Murray Gibson, Past Chair

Department of Materials Science University of Illinois 1304 West Green St. Urbana, IL 61801

Tel: (217) 3333-2997 FAX: (217) 244-2278 Email: j-gibson@uiuc.edu

MEMBERS AT LARGE

Lynn E. Rehn (1994-97)

Materials Science Division, Bldg. 223 Argonne National Laboratory 9600 S. Cass Ave.

Argonne, IL 60439 Tel: (708) 252-5021 FAX: (708) 252-4798

Email: Lynn Rehn@QMGATE.ANL.GOV

Andrew Zangwill (1994-97)

School of Physics Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA 30332

Tel: (404) 894-7333 FAX: (404) 894-9958

Email: Zangwill@zang1.physics.gatech.edu

Patricia Mooney (1995-98)

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center P.O. Box 218

Yorktown Heights, NY 10598

Tel: (914) 945-3445 FAX: (914) 945-4581

Email: mooney@watson.ibm.com

Frances Hellman (1995-98)

Department of Physics 0319 University of California-San Diego 9500 Gilman Drive LaJolla, CA 92093 Tel: (619) 534-5533

FAX: (619) 534-0174 Email: fhellman@ucsd.edu

Shirley Chiang (1996-99)

Department of Physics

University of California-Davis Davis, Ca 95616

Tel: (916) 752-8538 FAX: (916) 752-4717

Email: chiang@physics.ucdavis.edu

Robert B. Laibowitz (1996-99)

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center P.O. Box 218 Yorktown Heights, NY 10598 Tel: (914) 945-2166

FAX: (914) 945-2141

Email: laibow@watson.ibm.com

David Long Price (1996-99)

Materials Science Division, Bldg. 223 Argonne National Laboratory Argonne, IL 60439

Tel: (708) 252-5475 FAX: (708) 252-7777

Email: price@anlpns.pns.anl.gov