Society

March 2001

In this Issue ...

This Newsletter is being sent only in electronic format to alert you to DMP special events at the APS March Meeting in Seattle, March 12-16, 2001. It also announces award winners, new fellows sponsored by DMP, and election results.

Our award winners are...

The new Fellows sponsored by DMP are...

DMP Business Meeting

Election Results

Letters to Congress Booth at March Meeting

DMP Reception

Tuesday, March 13, 2001 5:30-6:30pm - Westin Hotel - Cascade Ballroom II

This year our reception will be held jointly with DCMP. Fellowship certificates and pins will be awarded. The reception is to honor our Awardees and new Fellows, to thank the Focus Topic Organizers for their efforts in helping to put the meeting together, and to meet Executive Committee members.) "any and all friends of DMP are welcome"

Our award winners are...

Art Gossard, (UC-Santa Barbara) - James C. McGroddy Prize in New **Materials:**

Citation: "For more than twenty-five years of major and continuing contributions to the science and technology of molecular beam epitaxy, and for the growth of heterogeneous compound semiconductor structures that have furthered both device applications and physical understanding of low dimensional structures. "

Ellen Williams (U. Maryland) - David Adler Lectureship Award:

Citation: "For her elegant experimental exploration of the structures and phase transitions of surfaces and for her effective communication on this subject in lectures and publications."

Note that our awardees will be present invited talks at the awards Session E4 on Monday afternoon in Ballroom 6E of the Washington State Convention Center. The session begins at 2:30pm.

The new Fellows sponsored by DMP are...

Chang, Yia-Chung (University of Illinois-Urbana) Daw, Murray S. (Clemson University)

Egami, Takeshi (University of Pennsylvania) Gösele, Ulrich Michael (Max-Planck-Institute-Halle) Iijima, Sumio (Meijo University) James, Ralph Boyd (Sandia National Laboratories) Mintmire, John Wallace (Naval Research Laboratory) Sankey, Otto F. (Arizona State University) Smith, Darryl Lyle (Los Alamos National Laboratory) Tamargo, Maria C. (CCNY-CUNY)

DMP Business Meeting

Tuesday, March 13, 2001 6:30-7:30pm, Westin Hotel - Blakely Room

Everyone is welcome!

Election Results: (terms commence after the March Meeting)

The Winners are...

Vice Chair:

• Jim Chelikowsky, University of Minnesota

Member at Large:

- Roberto Car, Princeton University
- Chris Van De Walle, Xerox PARC

We thank all participants in the election!

Letters to Congress Booth at March Meeting:

The APS is setting up a letter writing booth at the March Meeting to make it easy for attendees to write to their Congressperson for support for science. The booth will be located near the Registration area. All DMP members are encouraged to participate in the letter-writing campaign.

DMP Homepage APS Homepage