## **APS/DFD Executive Committee Teleconference**

## 8:30-10:30am PDT, June 8, 2010

<u>Participants:</u> Juan Lasheras, Kenny Breuer, Ann Karagozian, Steve Davis, Andrea Prosperetti, P.K. Yeung, Jon Freund, Phil Marcus, Peko Hosoi, Lance Collins, Tim Colonius, Jim Duncan, Eckart Meiburg

## **Discussion:**

- 1. Opening Remarks: Juan Lasheras
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the November 2009 Executive Committee Meeting in Minneapolis.
- 3. Committee Reports:
  - Nominating Committee (F. Hussain): There have been few nominations so far; more are encouraged, especially for the position of Vice Chair. Note: The nominee for the VC position should be a fellow of the APS.
  - Program Committee (K. Breuer): The committee has selected eight plenary speakers out of about 20 suggested names. In addition, it has selected 5 proposals for minisymposia. The Executive Committee members agreed that it would be very timely to have a minisymposium on the fluid mechanics aspects of the Gulf oil spill. In this context, J. Lasheras informed the telecom participants that on the initiative of the White House, a commission has been formed in order to estimate the rate at which oil has been spilling into the Gulf. Several APS/DFD members serve on this commission. The recent Icelandic volcanic eruption represents another potential topic for a minisymposium.
  - Fellowship Committee (A. Karagozian): The committee has finalized its work and forwarded the names of 17 nominees (including alternates and matched alternates) to the APS. The results are expected to be announced later this summer/fall.
  - Fluid Dynamics Prize Committee (S. Davis): Out of 9 nominees, the committee has selected John Hinch as this year's Fluid Dynamics Prize recipient.
  - Acrivos Award Committee (A. Prosperetti): The committee has narrowed the list of 10 nominees to 2 finalists, and the final committee vote will be held tomorrow, June 9, 2010.
  - Frenkiel Award Committee (M. Brenner): The committee has narrowed the number of candidates to a short list. In this context, the question arose as to whether the same person should be able to receive the Frenkiel Award twice. The telecom participants voted that indeed, the same person should be eligible to receive the Frenkiel Award twice. Similarly, a person who has previously won the Otto Laporte Award should be eligible to win the Fluid Dynamics Prize.
  - Ad Hoc Committee on Cyber Fluid Dynamics (P.K. Yeung): P.K. informed the telecom participants that Bob Moser is preparing a proposal in response to the NSF initiative on 'Software Infrastructure for Sustained Innovation.'

- External Affairs Committee (J. Freund): Juan Lasheras informed the telecom participants that he has had some discussion with members of the Mexican Physical Society regarding waiving the registration fees for the 2010 Long Beach meeting for a number of Mexican graduate students. The telecom participants were supportive and agreed that this should be handled through the conventional travel grant channels.
- Ad Hoc Committee on Media and Public Relations (J. Brasseur and J. Duncan): J. Brasseur and Jim Duncan propose to form a standing 'Committee for Media and Science Relations,' which would take the place of the present Ad Hoc Committee. The present Committee on Publications and Media would be eliminated. This issue will be voted on at the Long Beach meeting in November.
- 4. 2010 Long Beach Meeting (A. Domaradzki and A. Karagozian): The Executive Committee approved the proposed changes to the registration categories, and the preliminary budget. The preliminary budget is based on a conservative estimate of the number of participants, and it projects a small profit at this time. Juan Lasheras will appoint an Ad Hoc committee to review the program structure of the DFD meetings, and to evaluate the option of a poster session.
- 5. 2011 Baltimore Meeting (A. Prosperetti): The Executive Committee approved the plan of holding the reception at the aquarium, even though this will result in an approximately \$10 increase of the registration fee. Juan Lasheras will assemble a group of people for the contract negotiations with Meetings & More.
- 6. 2012 San Diego Meeting (J. Lasheras): Preparations for the 2012 meeting in San Diego are well underway. The same group of UCSD staff will be handling the organization as for the 2001 meeting.
- 7. 2013 Meeting proposals (J. Lasheras): There is a proposal by Bud Homsy to organize the 2013 meeting in Vancouver. The telecom participants agree that this is an attractive proposal, but there are some concerns regarding visa issues for foreign students. Possible alternative sites are Boston (lead: Peko Hosoi), Denver/Boulder (lead: Pat Weidman/Jean Hertzberg), and Providence (lead: K. Breuer).
- 8. Treasurer's Report (E. Meiburg): The account balances for the Acrivos Award and the Fluid Dynamics Prize have been increasing at a steady rate over the past few years, as has the balance of the operating account. The 2009 Minneapolis meeting generated income, expenses and a profit in line with recent DFD meetings.
- 9. Division Councillor's Report (J. Brasseur): Nominations are sought for the position of the DFD Concillor. Jim Brasseur has expressed an interest in continuing in this position for a second term.
- 10. Closing remarks by Juan Lasheras.