Highly Enriched Uranium Study Committee Members

James Wells (co-chair) is currently a Professor in the University of Michigan Physics Department. He is a theoretical physicist whose research explores ideas designed to solve outstanding "origins" problems in fundamental physics: the origin of gauge symmetries, dark matter, flavor violations, CP violation, and mass. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a recipient of an Outstanding Junior Investigator (OJI) Award from the U.S. Department of Energy, and a Sloan Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Julia Phillips (co-chair) is a member of the National Science Board and Home Secretary of the National Academy of Engineering. She retired from Sandia National Laboratories in 2015 after nearly 20 years in various research leadership positions including Vice President and Chief Technology Officer. Prior to her time at Sandia, she spent 14 years at AT&T Bell Laboratories where she performed leading edge research in thin film epitaxial electronic materials and complex oxides.

William Barletta is currently an Adjunct Professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Director Emeritus of the Accelerator Division at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Internationally, he is Coordinating Editor-in-Chief of Nuclear Instruments and Methods-A, a member of the Scientific Council of the Centro Fermi and Museum in Rome, tsenior advisor to the President of Sincrotrone Trieste, Visiting Professor in the Faculty of Economics of the University of Ljubljana and a member of the Advisory Board of the John Adams Institute in the UK. He was Director of the US Particle Accelerator School (2006-2017) and was founding director of the Korean Accelerator School.

Robert Birgeneau is currently the Arnold and Barbara Silverman Distinguished Professor of Physics, Materials Science and Engineering, and Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley. He previously served as UC Berkeley's Chancellor between 2004 and 2013. He is also the co-chair of the Lincoln Project with Mary Sue Coleman, the President Emeritus of the University of Michigan. The Lincoln Project is an initiative of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences which advocates for the importance of public colleges and universities and devises strategies to increase their funding.

Robert Dimeo is currently the Director of the NIST Center for Neutron Research (NCNR), a national user facility for neutron scattering on the NIST Gaithersburg campus. His research interests include the dynamics of quantum fluids, quantum rotations in molecular solids, software development for the visualization and analysis of neutron scattering data, and the development of neutron instrumentation. He served as the Assistant Director for Physical Sciences and Engineering at the Office of Science and Technology Policy from 2005 until 2007. He was responsible for working on policy matters involving major research facilities in materials science, interagency cooperation on large scale research activities, and other interagency working groups and remains active in U.S. science policy.

Francesco Ganda is currently the Principal Nuclear Engineer at the Argonne National Laboratory. He leads the multi-lab research activities in the area of nuclear economics of the

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy, System Analysis and Integration Campaign. His research focuses on nuclear economics, reactor physics and nuclear fuel cycles. He has published extensively in peer reviewed journals, conference proceedings and various technical reports.

William Martin is currently a Professor of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences at the University of Michigan. His current research interests include the development of computational transport methods for nuclear reactor analysis including deterministic transport methods and Monte Carlo simulation. He is a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society and has published one book, several book chapters and over 100 archival journal articles.

John Sarrao is currently the Principal Associate Director for Science, Technology and Engineering (PADSTE) at Los Alamos National Laboratory. As PADSTE, he leads the Laboratory's science, technology, and engineering capabilities, overseeing a \$1.2B organization with 3,000 staff. He also serves as LANL's Chief Research Officer. His primary research interest is in the synthesis and characterization of correlated electron systems, especially actinide materials. He was the 2013 winner of the Department of Energy's E.O. Lawrence Award and the 2004 winner of the LANL Fellows Prize for Research, in part for his discovery of the first plutonium superconductor.

Antoinette Taylor is currently the Deputy Associate Director for Chemistry, Life and Earth Sciences at Los Alamos National Laboratory. She was formerly the Director for the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies and the Material Physics and Applications Division Leader at LANL. Her background is in nanophotonics and ultrafast dynamics of quantum and nanoscale materials. She is a Fellow of the America Physical Society (APS), the Optical Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Laboratory.

Norman Wagner is currently the Unidel Robert L. Pigford Chair in Chemical Engineering at the University of Delaware, with affiliated faculty appointments in Physics and Astronomy, as well as Biomechanics and Movement Science. He heads the Center for Neutron Science, a cooperative agreement with the National Center for Neutron Research at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). He is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Inventors, in addition to being a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and Neutron Scattering Society of America.