Committee on the Status of Women in Physics Annual report 2012

S. Victoria Greene, Vanderbilt University CSWP Chair, 2012

Overview: The Committee on the Status of Women in Physics (CSWP) was founded in 1972 to address the encouragement and career development of women physicists. The Committee consists of nine volunteer members appointed by the President of the APS. Throughout its 41-year history, CSWP has been an active sponsor of studies, programs and publications to foster women in physics. Details on current programs can be found in the Women in Physics. Annual reports on past activities are linked below.

Meetings: the committee held four meetings in 2012: a teleconference on January 17, an inperson meeting at APS headquarters on April 6, a teleconference on July 17, and an in-person meeting in Denver, Colorado, on October 26.

Site Visits: CSWP continue its program of site visits. The goals of the site visit program are to

- 1. Identify a set of generic problems commonly experienced by women physicists.
- 2. Intervene to solve many of these generic problems.
- 3. Address problems arising in the particular physics department or lab visited and help improve the climate for women (both students and faculty) in the facility.

Prior to the visit, a confidential survey is given to the students and employees of the facility. During the site visit, the team members meet with stakeholders, and following the visit, a report is provided to the facility detailing the findings of the committee. For 2012, visits were made to Yale University (in conjunction with the Committee on Minorities) and Argonne National Laboratory.

AWIS Awards Workshop: Vicki Greene attended the Association for Women in science (AWIS) Awards meeting held in May for professional societies and organizations. The meeting focused on various dimensions of fairness that promote a fair outcome in determining award winners. As a result of the suggestions made in this workshop, CSWP decided to draft a document to provide recommendations to APS awards committees and Greene participated in Committee on Committees meeting.

Conferences for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP): The CUWiP series of regional conference sought sponsorship and assistance from the APS, having outgrown its grassroots organizational and funding structure. CSWP enthusiastically supports these conferences and supported the evolution of the formal sponsorship of CUWiP by APS.

CSWP Invited Sessions: Former member Saku Vrtilek was the program chair for the committee's March Meeting invited session. For the March Meeting, ½ of the session from CSWP and COM was donated to the LGBT Physicists Group so that they could hold a session on Sex and Gender Diversity Issues in Physics. This session was held on Tuesday, February 28. Following this session, COM and CSWP combined their remaining ½ times to form a session on STEM Outreach to Underrepresented Minorities. Greene was the program chair for the committee's April Meeting invited session. The CSWP session in April was held Monday, April 2. The topic was Women in Physics: Status and Interventions and the speakers include Rachel Ivie of the AIP Statistical Research Center, Abby Stewart of the University of Michigan, and Kelly Holley-Bockelmann of Vanderbilt University.

Events at APS Spring meetings: The NSF-sponsored Professional Skills Development Workshops were held prior to the March and April APS meetings; there was a record-breaking number of applications. There was also a CSWP-sponsored networking luncheon and reception at each meeting. The March networking lunch was co-sponsored with the Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics and the April lunch was co-sponsored with the Division of Particles and Fields. The networking receptions were co-sponsored with the Committee on Minorities; the March reception was termed the Diversity Networking Reception and the LGBT Physicists Group was included.

New Physics Poster: In consultation with psychology professionals at the University of Michigan, a concept for the new physics poster for high school and college students was developed. A photo shoot was held at Vanderbilt University to obtain photos for the new poster, which was subsequently printed and distributed by APS.

Blewett Awards: The Blewett award serves "to enable women to return to physics research careers after having had to interrupt those careers." For 2012, there was an increase in applications for the Blewett Fellowship, with several competitive applicants. The endowment allowed the selection committee to award two full fellowships (\$45,000), and the committee chose Nikta Amiri (Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics) and Michelle Ntampaka (Carnegie Mellon University) as the 2012 recipients.

Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award: The MGM award is "given to a woman physicist during the early years of her career ... for scientific achievements that demonstrate her potential as an outstanding physicist." The 2012 awardee was Nadya Mason of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Women Physicist of the Month: CSWP continued to run the series Woman Physicist of the month, in which a different woman physicist is highlighted each month on the APS women in Physics web page. The awardees for 2012 are:

- 1. January Helen Caines, Yale University
- 2. February Elizabeth Simmons, Michigan State University
- 3. March Sherry Yennello, Texas A&M University
- 4. April Kathleen Stebe, University of Pennsylvania
- 5. May Christine Nattrass, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
- 6. June Ana Maria Rey, JILA and University of Colorado, Boulder

- 7. July Ann Heinson, University of California, Riverside
- 8. August Marianna Safronova, University of Delaware
- 9. September Lynn Cominsky, Sonoma State University
- 10. October Persis Drell, SLAC/Stanford University
- 11. November Jolie Cizewski, Rutgers University
- 12. December Jodi Cooley, Southern Methodist University

Gazette: CSWP provides a guest editor for the Spring issue of the Gazette, while the Committee on Minorities guest edits the Fall issue. For 2012, CSWP member Amanda Peet was guest editor; she wrote a guest editorial on disability.

CSWP Members for 2012:

Vicki Greene, chair, Vanderbilt University; Susan Blessing, chair-elect, Florida State University; Pat Burchat, Stanford University; Charlie Doering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; Jill Foley, Nova Photonics; Amanda Peet, University of Toronto; Kathy Prestridge, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Vidhya Ramachandran, Qualcomm, Inc.; Marianna Safronova, University of Delaware.