

APS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2015

COMMITTEE: MEMBERSHIP (CoMem)

COMMITTEE CHARGE

The membership of the Committee on Membership shall consist of the Executive Officer and nine members appointed by the President to staggered three-year terms. The President shall appoint the Chairperson from among these nine members. The Committee shall suggest to Council means for improving the relationship between the Society and its members, member services the Society provides including on-membership APS publications, and other membership activities as delegated to it by the Council.

CURRENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Chair: Frank A Narducci Member: Zhihong Lin Univ of California - Irvine Naval Air Warfare Ctr Member: Cynthia Aku-Leh Member: Jeremy Scott Univ of South Alabama ISciences Member: Jiming Bao Member: Sam Zeller Univ of Houston Fermilab Member: **David Giltner** Member: George O Zimmerman Boston Univ (retired) Zolo Technologies Member: Joshua Grossman Student Member: Brock Russell St. Mary's College of MD Whittier College

SUMMARY OF MEETINGS AND ACTIVITIES IN 2015

In 2015, CoMem's main project was to conduct a member survey on APS benefits and services. A small task force of committee members worked with staff to develop a survey instrument that was sent out electronically to a random sample of \sim 12,000 members in October. All member categories, U.S. and international, were sampled. Preliminary results show a response rate of approximately 15%. This is lower than in years past but still a good result considering current challenges with over surveying and filtering of messages. The Committee will use the next two meetings to sort through the data and formulate any recommendations to APS Council.

All CoMem members were again asked to hold a social event at their institution or in conjunction with another local meeting. These events are used to gain feedback from both prospective and current APS members on society services and programs. Committee members are reimbursed for any fees incurred with the activities.

Frank Narducci, 2015 CoMem Chair Trish Lettieri, APS Director of Membership