APS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2014



COMMITTEE: MEMBERSHIP

COMMITTEE CHARGE

The membership of the Committee on Membership shall consist of the Executive Officer and nine members appointed by the President to staggered three-year terms. The President shall appoint the Chairperson from among these nine members. The Committee shall suggest to Council means for improving the relationship between the Society and its members, member services the Society provides including on-membership APS publications, and other membership activities as delegated to it by the Council.

CURRENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Chair: **Frank A Narducci** Naval Air Warfare Ctr

Member: **Michael R Brown** Swarthmore College

Member: Cynthia Aku-Leh ISciences

Member: Flavio C Cruz UNICAMP-Univ de Campinas

Member: **Joshua Grossman** St. Mary's College of MD Member: Hans Dieter Hochheimer Colorado State Univ (retired)

Member: **Zhihong Lin** Univ of California - Irvine

Member: Jeremy Scott Univ of South Alabama

Member: George O Zimmerman Boston Univ (retired)

Student Member: Laura Boon Purdue Univ

SUMMARY OF MEETINGS AND ACTIVITIES IN 2014

In May 2014, CoMem approved the addition of an undergraduate student membership category for 2015. The dues were set at \$25, lower than the \$37 graduate student member rate for next year.

CoMem recommended that anniversary letters and certificates be sent to members. Letters were sent to those with 20, 30, and 40 years of membership (almost 1,400 letters). Certificates were sent to those celebrating 25 and 50 years of membership (over 260 certificates). The initiative was launched in September and was well received.

All CoMem members were again asked to hold a social event at their institution or in conjunction with another local meeting. These events are used to gain feedback from both prospective and current APS members. Committee members are reimbursed for any fees incurred with the activities. Activities were reviewed on a November conference call and it was unanimous to continue the efforts for 2015 in place of a fall in person meeting.

Frank Narducci, 2014 CoMem Chair Trish Lettieri, APS Director of Membership