APS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2013



COMMITTEE:

MEMBERSHIP

COMMITTEE CHARGE

The membership of the Committee on Membership shall consist of the Executive Officer and nine members appointed by the President to staggered three-year terms. The President shall appoint the Chairperson from among these nine members. The Committee shall suggest to Council means for improving the relationship between the Society and its members, member services the Society provides including on-membership APS publications, and other membership activities as delegated to it by the Council.

CURRENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Chair: **Lynn A Boatner**Oak Ridge National Lab

Member: **Zhihong Lin**Univ of California - Irvine

Member: Michael R Brown Member: Francesco A Narducci

Swarthmore Coll Naval Air Warfare Ctr

Member: **Matthew W Copel** Member: **J Marshall Thomsen**

IBM T J Watson Res Ctr Eastern Michigan Univ

Member: Flavio C Cruz Member: George O Zimmerman

UNICAMP-Univ de Campinas Boston Univ

Member: **Hans Dieter Hochheimer** Student Member: **Renee Horton**

Colorado State Univ Univ of Alabama - Tuscaloosa

SUMMARY OF MEETINGS AND ACTIVITIES IN 2013

In May 2013, CoMem supported the recommendation of the Early Career Task Force and approved the name change of the dues category from "Junior" to "Early Career" membership. These eligibility for the reduced dues was also increased from three years to five.

CoMem has recommended the design and distribution of an APS member pin. The pin will be different from the Fellow and Outstanding Referee designs. A plan to distribute the pins will be implemented in 2014.

Finally, all CoMem members are asked to hold a social event at their institution or in conjunction with a local Section meeting. These events are used to gain feedback from both prospective and current APS members. Committee members are reimbursed for any fees incurred with the activities. A conference call is scheduled for November so that Committee members can report and evaluate the social activities.